St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
1618 Ben King Road NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Tel: (770)419-8601
  • St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School is a Kindergartenthrough 8th grade parochial school within the Archdiocese ofAtlanta.
  • Our school is a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School of Excellencewith accreditation by AdvancED and membership in the NationalCatholic Educational Association.
  • We are served by the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia. .

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Education Association
Atlanta Association of Independent Schools (AAAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Southern Association of Independent Schools
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded 2002
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2013

Student Body

Total Students 386 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 23 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
44%
Average Class Size 22 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 16 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $7,550
Tuition Notes For active Catholic families. Tuition assistance available to families demonstrating financial need.
% on Financial Aid
36%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,500
Admissions Director Michelle Huval

Sports

Total Sports Offered 2 sports
Sports Basketball, VolleyballBasketballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Angel Choir, Band, Choir, LEGO Robotics, Private Instruction in Dance, Guitar, Piano and Voice, Science Olympiad Angel Choir, Band, Choir, LEGO Robotics, Private Instruction in Dance, Guitar, Piano and Voice,
Science Olympiad,

School Notes

  • Our school communityunites with family and community toprovide an excellent academic and religious education. Weseek todevelop the whole child while encouraging individualtalents and abilities in a Christ-centered environment. Inimitation of St. Catherine, faithful daughter of the Church, weprovide a spiritual formation grounded in truth through which weengage the culture, setting the world ablaze with the love ofChrist.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kennesaw
    Grades: NS-8 | 182 students
    1 miles
    2958 N. Main Street
    Kennesaw, GA 30144
    (770)422-3254
    1NS-8
    182
  • Marietta
    Grades: K-8 | 483 students
    5 miles
    81 Lacy St Nw
    Marietta, GA 30060
    (770)428-3328
    5K-8
    483
  • Kennesaw
    Grades: NS-12 | 895 students
    0.9 miles
    4500 Eagle Drive
    Kennesaw, GA 30144
    (770)975-0252
    0.9NS-12
    895
  • Marietta
    Grades: NS-8 | 388 students
    10.1 miles
    1772 Johnson Ferry Road
    Marietta, GA 30062
    (770)971-1880
    10.1NS-8
    388
  • Kennesaw
    Grades: NS-12 | 228 students
    3.2 miles
    260 Hawkins Store Rd Ne
    Kennesaw, GA 30144
    (770)926-7729
    3.2NS-12
    228

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (10 reviews)
5  2/25/2017
Like many parents, when our daughter was in Pre-K, my husband and I attended multiple Open Houses in search of that school that we felt would be a great fit. And what we found was that, across the board, they all provided an excellent learning environment. But what stood out to us, and call it a gut feeling, was that St. Catherine's was more about nurturing the entire child, not just the scholastic or the spiritual side. And once our daughter was enrolled, it didn't take me long to figure out what the gut feeling was . . . it is the feeling of family. And that is what St. Catherine's is all about. It's about being part of something bigger than just a place where children go to learn. It's a place that offers challenging academics that are anchored in the tradition of the Catholic faith. It's a place with a very special differentiator - the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia. It's a place where the main focus of every staff member is to develop the entire child - academically, spiritually, and emotionally. It's a very special place where, to borrow a tag line from The Olive Garden - "When you're here, you're family". So for all of the parents out there thinking about schools right now, I would just like to say that it would be a blessing to have you become a member of our St. Catherine's family.
- Posted by
5  2/6/2017
I can't say enough wonderful things about this school. When I drop my kids off it's like leaving them with family.
- Posted by
5  12/17/2016
We have been at this school for 8 years and have to say we are so happy. I believe this is the last school in the Atlanta area that has Sisters/Nuns in the Classroom, and that was a big reason i chose this school over others that were closer to my home. From my own upbringing i know how important it is for the students to witness the strong moral messages of a great catholic school. The academics are also very strong with high test scores and kids going on to many of the Magnet High Schools (as will my child). The school allows kids to focus on success today and shows them how to be ready for high school. The school also has its national Blue Ribbon certification for excellent academics. Absolutely love the principal and the teachers who show a real passion for what they do and do it very well. The advance math and science program was also very important for me. Highly recommend this school everyone I know that non-Catholics are welcomed.
- Posted by
5  12/17/2016
A fantastic school that truly partners with your family in developing and educating your children.
- Posted by
5  12/7/2016
I have children in 2nd, 1st and K at St. Catherine's and love the school. The Principal is a Dominican Sister, as are several teachers. The school keeps a strong Catholic identity. Additionally, they focus on involving the entire family in education and have a strong academic program. We are happy to go here and will be sending our fourth child there also.
- Posted by
5  12/7/2016
We have our two sons in the school. We love the warming welcome that our kids receive every single day from the teachers and the Dominican Sisters. Not only that, and most importantly, our sons are growing in the catholic values of charity, faith and love.
- Posted by
5  11/3/2016
My kids have gone to St. Catherine's for 8 years, and I currently have children in grades 2, 4, and 6. This school provides a wonderful balance of faith and superior education, a disciplined but joyful environment, and just an amazing place for kids to grow in a safe environment. The Dominican sisters are nothing like the old school nuns my parents described - they are always smiling, playing volleyball and soccer with the kids; they really KNOW and LOVE my kids. There is no place we would rather be!
- Posted by
5  10/26/2016
St Catherines is a great school. We have 3 children there (will have 4) in grades K, 1 and 2. The Sisters run the school and it is definitely Catholic, not just in name. The school community is great, it is small enough that you get to know almost everyone but large enough so it isn't too nosey or awkward. My children are challenged, they look forward to school and the focus on family, scholastics and spirituality truly make this a great place. I can't speak for the later grades but our babysitters went to school here and I have only heard good things.
- Posted by
5  9/27/2016
Educating our children is one of the most important tasks we are given as parents. In searching for a school for our children, our priorities were: Academic Excellence, Positive Nurturing Environment and Catholic Identity. We found these standards in spades at St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School in Kennesaw GA. For our family it truly is the best and that is because SCS alone in Georgia boasts the presence of the Nashville Dominican Sisters of the St. Cecilia Congregation. The Sisters set a standard of academic excellence while nurturing our children in their faith. As Administrators of the school, the Nashville Dominicans have a remarkable history and have been able to attract a staff equal in talent to their mission. The staff at St. Catherine of Siena is unparalleled. And finally, the SCS Community is truly an extension of the individual family. We have experienced many other schools in our family life, and there is no other community that we have ever been a part of, that can compare to the generosity of spirit, time, and treasure that exists within the community of St. Catherine of Siena. It is truly remarkable. St. Catherine of Siena School and Parish Community is the best place to live and raise a family in Georgia, no question.
- Posted by
5  5/30/2015
St. Catherine's is a wonderful school with strong academics and spiritual components. After watching my children grow from K-8th grade, I can not imagine a more sound and loving environment for them to have gone through. The Dominican Sisters have been wonderful. I'm so thankful we've had the privilege to be part of such a great community!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 25, 2017
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
April 25, 2017
If you are looking for a college preparatory education with a military emphasis, then take a look at military schools.
April 25, 2017
School uniforms are largely found at religious, parochial and military schools. Dress codes have replaced uniforms at most schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Kennesaw, GA is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).