The Christian School at Castle Hills

5.00 5 1 (15 reviews)
Tel: (210)878-1000
  • The Christian School at Castle Hills, historically Castle Hills First Baptist School, became an independent school January 2016 but the history of excellence beginning in 1981 carries on.
  • At Castle Hills our pledge is to give every student the edge for success.
  • We offer an academically rigorous college-prep curriculum and are focused on developing tomorrow's servant-leaders today.
  • Our mission is to lead students, in partnership with families, to know Christ and make Christ known. Our Academy of Excellence and Leadership Development is a school within a school offering students the opportunity to learn leadership concepts and put them into practice as well as learning how to be a servant leader.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious AffiliationBaptist
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedSlight learning differences
Year Founded1981

Student Body

Total Students450 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeThe Christian School at Castle Hills Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
15%
Average Class Size18 students
Number of AP Courses6 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAmerican History, Calculus, Engineering, English 11, English 12, Physics, Spanish
Average SAT score1115
Average ACT score23
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniforms purchased at Parker Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesVaries depending on grade. Please visit our website.
% on Financial Aid
25%
Admissions DirectorSusan Covarrubia
Admissions AssociateMrs. Miller

Sports

Total Sports Offered9 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryFootball,
GolfSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Drama Club, National Honor Society, Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
Art, Band, Choir, Private Music Lessons, Strings Program, Theatre

School Notes

  • STRONG COLLEGE PREPARATORY ACADEMICS taught by an excellent faculty degreed and certified in their individual field of study
  • 85% of our graduates in 2017 received scholarships to college or university
  • Six TAPPS State Championships in the past 4 years!
  • Full Athletic Program - 2014 and 2015 2A Football State Champions
  • Excellence in the Arts - 2016 2A and 2017 3A TAPPS State Champions in Art, 2017 Texas Private School Music Educator's Association (TPSMEA Eagle Choir Superior Ratings and TPSMEA 4-year All-State Choir Participant and Scholarship recipient, 2016 TAPPS One Act Play All-Star Cast Recognitions, 2014 1A State Champions in Choir and Band, 
  • Caring and loving faculty dedicated to developing students to be servant leaders for Jesus Christ
  • Top-Rated Early Childhood, Pre Kindergarten, Kindergarten and Elementary Programs provide the academic and spiritual foundation for success
  • Computer Technology, Art, Music, daily P.E. and Recess, Hot Lunch Program Available
  • Affordable Tuition for Preschool, Kindergarten thru the 12th Grade
  • State of the Art Facilities, Technology & Sports Complex
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • San Antonio
    Grades: PK-12 | 1043 students
    7.1 miles
    19202 Redland Road
    San Antonio, TX 78259
    (210)340-1864
    7.1PK-12
    1043
  • San Antonio
    Grades: PK-12 | 1078 students
    1.1 miles
    4802 Vance Jackson Road
    San Antonio, TX 78230
    (210)979-9203
    1.1PK-12
    1078
  • San Antonio
    Grades: 9-12 | 150 students
    5 miles
    12721 Mountain Air Suite 101
    San Antonio, TX 78249
    (210)697-9191
    59-12
    150
  • Bulverde
    Grades: PK-12 | 254 students
    18.8 miles
    670 Old Boerne Road
    Bulverde, TX 78163
    (830)438-3211
    18.8PK-12
    254
  • San Antonio
    Child Montessori School
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-5 | 81 students
    2.6 miles
    2829 Hunters Green St.
    San Antonio, TX 78231
    (210)493-6550
    2.6PK-5
    81

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (15 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
Excellent teachers & staff who are very encouraging and want your child to succeed! I can't say enough good things about them in this little space! Leadership academy is an awesome bonus!!! Choir has been #'' 1 in state multiple years---sports are fantastic--fine arts fabulous--mission trips are beyond awesome, lots of sports & activities to choose from! Superintendant is very involved and loved by all! Highly recommend if you want your child in a nurturing, Christian school that teaches leadership and Christian values!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We have been at CHFBS for over four years, being first-hand recipients of their incredible focus on building firm, personal relationships with Christ and above-average academic foundations. The teachers are experts in their fields and impart a love of learning and exploring, even in courses my child doesn't think she should like! We love CHFBS and are so excited about our partnership with them in the education and development of our child.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We made the switch from public to private school and are thrilled to be at Castle Hills! The teachers and administrators really care about the children's hearts and our daughter is thriving there. We are so thankful to be a part of such an awesome team!
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
Castle Hills is a top-notch, college prep, Christian school -- a true gem on the central, north side of San Antonio. Classes are small, the teachers are award-winning, the curriculum is rigorous. The school has about 525 students from preschool through the 12th grade, making it the perfect place for my kids to grow up! We love this school! My elementary child learned to read this year (thanks to an awesome teacher!) and my upper level student is making Straight As, although she is having to work really, really hard to get those grades. The students attend weekly chapel and daily Bible classes, so my kids are growing in their Christian faith. The school offers great arts programs and athletics. I would HIGHLY recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  10/31/2015
Coming from public education, I have been enormously blessed to teach at the high school level here. The administrative team strives to make our jobs as simple and student-focused as they need to be. The students are wonderfully adept at thinking critically and encourage one another to excel in their studies. Since moving here, my wife and I have been pampered by the support of the parents and their families through gifts of their time, encouragement, and assistance in helping their students become successful.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have been at CHFBS since I was 18 months old. I am in the 9th grade and I love my school. I am challenged academically, I participate in Student Council, Drama Club, Choir, and shows. It is my second family.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Best all around school in San Antonio. Knowledgeable faculty that cares, strong academics with AP options, college prep and guidance services, great choir, band, and drama as well as a full option of athletics. Congratulations to the Varsity football team on winning the TAPPS Division II State Championship.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Excellent school to prepare students for college and life. We have been so pleased with the parental involvement throughout the grades as well as the open door policy of the administation and faculty. A real family feel which has helped our children thrive.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I cannot say enough about the quality of education at CHFBS. There is a culture of academic excellence at this school which is grounded in a Christ-centered atmosphere. It can be felt from your first encounter with the administration, faculty, and/or students. My children have been enriched by their time here and will never attend any other school. CHFBS is the best! ''We are because HE is''
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
This school is a beacon to those that want to provide their children with a superior college prep education with the security of a safe. nurturing, respectful environment. Lifelong friendships are forged among parents and students. The Educators. Counselors, Administration are incredible. The curriculum preparatory, challenging yet supportive. Want to know what it feels like to drop your child off at school and know their lives will be enriched that day? This and much more await those who seek excellence!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Castle Hills First Baptist School is an awesome school. Every since I met the faculty and admininistration, both me and my family have been showered with love. My children have been attending for two years now and they are loving it. As a parent, I highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childrens educational and spiritual future as well. GREAT JOB CASTLE HILLS! Keep up the God work! And congratualtions Texas State Champs!
- Posted by
5  11/20/2014
We have an amazing fine arts program at Castle Hills. The secondary choir students just finished their first performance of the Madrigal Dinner and it was fantastic. The singing was beautiful, the acting of the skit was hilarious, the meal was wonderful. The audience greatly enjoyed the students walking around the room in costume and greeting as well as the interaction during the skit. Earlier in the week the entire student body honored our Veterans with a moving Veterans'' Day program. If your student is looking for an excellent school for fine arts, Castle Hills is the place. Art, Drama, Choir, and Band are excellent and students will be encouraged in so many ways. Congratulations Castle Hills!
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
Excellent academic program, teachers and state of the art facilities. Award winning fine arts programs and great athletics. An absolutely amazing school with great families.
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
Great school. This is our third year at CHFBS with kids in 8th and 10th grade. The superintendant is an inspiring, energetic, godly man who loves the kids and has high expectations for the teachers. The teachers are high quality, christian men and women who desire success for the students. Lots of extracurricular acitivities available too. Sports, drama, robotics, choir, band, and many more!
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
Castle Hills First Baptist School is a great place to go to school for Christian Education. As an Alumni, and now current employee growing up here for 18 years of my life was such a blessing. The teachers, curriculum, and the amazing facilities are just some of the great things about this school. I am blessed to be back where I went to school!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in San Antonio, TX is $5,663 for elementary schools and $8,008 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in San Antonio, TX is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).