Veritas Christian Academy

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
Tel: (828)681-0546
previous
Veritas Christian Academy, established in 1998, is a classical, Christian, college-preparatory PK-12 school located in Fletcher, North Carolina.  Fletcher is situated between Asheville and Hendersonville, in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina.  Our mission is to equip minds and engage hearts for God's Kingdom Purposes.
next
Veritas Christian Academy, established in 1998, is a classical, Christian, college-preparatory PK-12 school located in Fletcher, North Carolina.  Fletcher is situated between Asheville and Hendersonville, in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina.  Our mission is to equip minds and engage hearts for God's Kingdom Purposes.
Veritas has a student enrollment of between 350-370 students each year in grades Pre-Kindergarten through 12.
Each Spring, the Senior class takes a trip to Europe, where much of what they've learned in History, Bible, and Theology come together as they walk through many places they've studied in these classes.
Since our lead graduating class in 2005, all of our graduates have been accepted to college or university.  The list of schools our graduates have been accepted to spans the spectrum from Wake Forest, Vanderbilt, Florida State and Sewanee, to UNC Chapel Hill, Duke, Boston College and Harvard.  The average SAT score for our students is 1807.
Athletics are alive and well at Veritas, and complement our rigorous academic curriculum to produce well-rounded students.  Sports offered include basketball, baseball, volleyball, soccer, cross country, tennis, and golf.
At Veritas, teaching our students the value of servant leadership through doing for others is vitally important.  Not only do individual classes have service projects they perform together, but our Salt and Light Serve-A-Thon is an annual day of service the entire school participates in.
Our Performing Arts program begins in 6th grade as an elective that students may participate in all the way through their senior year.  Productions include a Shakespeare play each fall and a musical each Spring.  Seeing the love of theatre sparked in our students through either performing or being part of the crew is something we prize.
Art is part of our curriculum from Pre-K - 8th Grade, and can be taken as an elective in 6th-12th grades as well.  Our art teacher (who is a professional artist herself) stresses that, since we are made in the image of our Creator God, we all possess creativity as well, and can access that creativity in different ways.
Music is an important part of our curriculum as well, with all students participating in different ways during their years at Veritas.  Special choral performances, instrumental ensembles, student-led chapel music, and classroom music instruction are some of the ways the love of music is planted in the hearts of our students.
Come tour Veritas to see if your child would like to be a Little Warrior!
  • Veritas Christian Academy is an independent, co-educational, PreK - 12, college preparatory school with an educational culture built on the classical Trivium and historic Biblical Christianity.
  • Veritas provides an academic curriculum that trains students in the grammatical, dialectical, and rhetorical arts with an equal emphasis on the acquisition of the empirical and mathematical sciences preparatory to, or at the level of, College Board Advanced Placement standards.
  • The program aims not only to equip students with knowledge of the different disciplines, but also to aid their understanding of learning as the pursuit and application of truth. The program's distinctives include Latin instruction that begins in third grade, a full year of informal and formal logic, a full year of rhetoric, the writing and defense of a senior thesis, and the age-appropriate teaching methodologies required of each subject.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedHigh Functioning Autism and related conditions
Year Founded1998

Student Body

Total Students337 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 18%
Students by GradeVeritas Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers59 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
45%
Average Class Size20 students
Number of AP Courses7 courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Chemistry, AP Latin Virgil, AP Literature and Composition, AP US Government, AP US History
Average SAT score1229
Average ACT score27
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Khaki pants/shorts/skirts/logo polo shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$6,450
Tuition NotesTuition ranges from $6,450 in Pre-Kindergarten to $13,525 for seniors.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant$3,800
Acceptance Rate
85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorAllison Bennett
Admissions AssociateBuffey Smith

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Golf, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
GolfSoccer,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess Club, Chorus, Creative Writing/Songwriting, Drama, Praise Band, Robotics Club, Strength and Conditioning, Studio Art, Yearbook Chess Club, Chorus, Drama, Praise Band, Robotics Club, Studio Art, Yearbook, Creative Writing/Songwriting,
Strength and Conditioning,

School Notes

  • To graduate from Veritas Christian Academy a student must have at least a C average (70% or higher) in every course taken in the curriculum. The school does not rank students. A minimum of 23 credits is required for graduation.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Hendersonville
    Grades: PK-8 | 160 students
    8.3 miles
    711 Buncombe St
    Hendersonville, NC 28791
    (828)693-3277
    8.3PK-8
    160
  • Swannanoa
    Grades: PK-12 | 587 students
    12.7 miles
    74 Riverwood Road
    Swannanoa, NC 28778
    (828)581-2200
    12.7PK-12
    587
  • Hendersonville
    Grades: K-12 | 21 students
    10 miles
    1787 Dana Road
    Hendersonville, NC 28792
    (828)989-8465
    10K-12
    21

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (10 reviews)
5  10/14/2017
We are now in our fourth year at Veritas and have been very pleased with the high academic standards and the Christian environment. Our kids have been appropriately challenged and love learning by all the classical methods. We came from a school that did not challenge the kids and therefore, my daughter was bored. When we came to Veritas, she came alive and excited about learning!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Veritas is an incredible school where grace is exhibited on every level. My child is challenged in the classical curriculum and encouraged in her Christian faith. The "tried and true" methods of teaching are practiced, and students truly learn. Small class sizes allow for excellent teacher relationships and mentoring. The Athletic Program is thriving and many students have received scholarships to attend colleges and universities. Theatre Veritas (Drama Program) is second to none and performs in two quality productions each year. We couldn't be happier with this school!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. This is a great combination of high academic standards in a Christian setting. Wonderful teachers care about every student and are willing and able to help each individual thanks to caring people and small class sizes. Thank you Veritas!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We educated two daughters at Veritas. The education was exceptional in many ways. The academic rigor is unrivaled by any school in the region. The "Classical" education with its emphasis on trivium (grammar stage, logic stage and rhetoric stage) provided a cohesive educational approach. The early grades were enriched with various mnemonic devices designed to impart enormous content in efficient, engaging ways. Years after my children completed the primary grades I found myself sometimes reciting some of the Shurley Grammar Jingles that were the foundation for later refinement and deep understanding of grammar. Both my daughters developed an ability to edit text at the level of a professional copy editor. While I thought the "logic" stage of the middle school years was somewhat indistinct, the high school years proved me wrong when I witnessed how the logic stage was another foundational step. The quality of genuine scholarship that Veritas nurtured in both our children gave them a solid preparation for becoming lifelong learners. The commitment and passion demonstrated by the faculty was remarkable. It was often evident that their occupation as educators was their mission. While not every teacher enthralled us, and we certainly had disagreements at times, we never saw a reason to doubt the teacher's genuine and heartfelt desire to seek the best for our children. Even when differences arose that pertained to Christian beliefs, there was an attitude of respect and an effort to avoid conflict with our beliefs as parents. I have always appreciated the thoughtful stewardship of financial resources displayed by the Board of Directors and leaders in the school. In no small part, this explains why Veritas has maintained relatively affordable tuition rates compared to other schools in our area like Carolina Day School. This also means their is more socioeconomic diversity among the student body than might be encountered at other schools. There were ample Advanced Placement courses for our children including AP Latin and Greek of course. Believing that in a pluralistic society like ours tolerance is paramount, I have often wished Veritas would drop its requirement for at least one parent to be a professing Christian. However, Veritas officials made compelling arguments that Veritas does not wish to be an evangelical school. Instead, it wishes to "partner" with parents in ways that would never be divisive. A school with an evangelical focus might be unable to sail between Scylla and Charybdis to avoid the perils of evangelizing to a child thereby undermining a parent who was a nonbeliever. While Veritas cannot guarantee a result regarding academic attainment or good character development, I continue to believe there is no better setting for providing children the best chance to achieve both.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We are so happy that our daughter is at VCA! The teachers are excellent: caring Christians who really care for the students. The work-load is challenging, but reasonable. Our athletic teams do well, and I love that my daughter's volleyball coach has real spirit of encouragement that carries over into the team. Her art teacher is wonderful, and she is involved in the drama program as well.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We are entering our 7 th year at VERITAS. We have 3 children in 1st, 4th, and 6th. What a blessing and privilege to have our children attend such an amazing academic school in such a wonderful atmosphere! Our 6th grade has attended since kindergarten and is more than prepared to be successful as a middle schooler. VERITAS is truly a place of respite where our children can be loved on and taught a Christian worldview. They also partake in classical learning that, not only, prepares them for college, but also, gives them the foundation to be thriving adults in today's challenging world.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
We are in our 4th year at Veritas. It is an excellent education, but more over, the teachers and administration are the mentors and examples every parent would want for their child. This a loving, safe and Christ-Centered environment. It is one big happy family with strong academics
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My wife and I have 2 kids going into their 3rd year in the lower school at Veritas. We were both educated in public schools in NC and now, like every other parent, we want to provide the best education possible for our own children. Our experience at Veritas has been overwhelmingly positive. The curriculum, teaching methods and educational standards are what you would expect of an elite private school. What has impressed me the most, however, is the culture of caring that is pervasive throughout the school. Faculty, students and parents all genuinely care not only for the well being of the kids, but for their families. When you see a teacher hug one of the children and tell them they love them and they are proud of them, you know your child is getting an experience that cannot be duplicated in a public school environment.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have 2 kids entering our 6th year at Veritas. I also have a child in high school at a public school, so I feel that I am familiar with both academic environments. VCA offers by far the more superior education. Kids graduate truly being prepared for college. There are plenty of AP courses, and the teachers are obviously wonderful. At the public school, there is little personal attention. At VCA, the teachers truly know my children and encourage them in all ways. Also, my children actually get to play on the sports teams . There is wonderful theater as well. It has been the perfect school for us.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My wife and I have two children in the Lower School at Veritas and our third will attend upon reaching the age to do so. We have been extraordinarily pleased with the education as well as the Christ-like mentoring and teaching provided by the entire staff. I would sell all that I possess if necessary to ensure our children complete their education at Veritas Christian Academy.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in North Carolina is $7,642 for elementary schools and $9,414 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in North Carolina is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).