Chabad Hebrew Academy

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (858)566-1996
  • The mission at CHA is to provide a dynamic, student-centered program of academic rigor amid cross curricular instruction that challenges students to maximize their intellectual, social, physical, and spiritual potential.
  • We aim to instill a strong sense of identity and a commitment to meaningful and balanced living, guided by Jewish ethics and values.
  • All students will possess the skills, motivation and discipline to achieve their full potential. Our students will have the courage to act independently, grow spiritually, live ethically and maintain productively enriched lives.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Society of Hebrew Day Schools (NSHDS)
Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
The Jewish Community Day School Association (SSDSA)
Religious AffiliationJewish
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1979

Student Body

Total Students320 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
4%
State avg.: 43%
Students by GradeChabad Hebrew Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers59 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size16 students
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineFeb. 18 / Mar. 18 / rolling
Tuition NotesFinancial Assistance is readily available and provided on a merit basis.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Admissions DirectorSusana Leff

Sports

Total Sports Offered8 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Flag Football, Golf, Soccer, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
SoccerTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess

Club or Organization:
Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts

Arts and Music Programs:
Choir

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Jump Rope, Karate/Self-Defense, Play Ball, Yoga
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Encinitas
    Grades: PK-8 | 432 students
    12.8 miles
    3616 Manchester Avenue
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)942-1111
    12.8PK-8
    432
  • Encinitas
    Grades: K-12 | 60 students
    14.9 miles
    679 Encinitas Blvd.
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)634-1188
    14.9K-12
    60
  • San Diego
    Grades: PK-8 | 293 students
    7.5 miles
    3630 Afton Rd
    San Diego, CA 92123
    (858)279-3300
    7.5PK-8
    293
  • Encinitas
    Grades: 7-12 | 160 students
    13.2 miles
    1500 El Camino Real
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)944-6777
    13.27-12
    160
  • Encinitas
     The Rhoades School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: K-8 | 300 students
    12.7 miles
    141 S Rancho Santa Fe Road
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)436-1102
    12.7K-8
    300

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  12/8/2017
Our daughters are in pre-school at Chabad. The teachers do an amazing job at bonding with the children. Our kids are encouraged to share what they have learned and they love going to school. Thank you to Chabad for helping to develop our daughters during such a formative time of their lives!
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I have been a parent at this school for 3 years now. It is more than a school, it is like a family. We feel a real sense of community there, and I know that the kids are in a loving and protected environment. This warm environment, coupled with the stellar educational curriculum offered and enabled my kids to really thrive. Both have started reading far ahead of their 5 birthday, which is impressive (and we don't really work on this at home). What I also appreciate is the attitude around learning in general that is fostered at the school. I don't know how they do it, but both my kids are truely excited about learning in general, and reading, and doing different projects. Almost makes parenting too easy! ;) Thank you Chabad Hebrew Academy!
- Posted by
5  2/6/2017
Our kids are thriving in the nurturing environment at CHA. CHA has figured out the just the right mix of academics, judaics/hebrew and specials. We highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  2/6/2017
We have been thoroughly impressed with the faculty, administration, and other students since we started in September. The school provides just the right mix of academics, Judaic Studies and Specials all in a nurturing environment. Our children are thriving at CHA.
- Posted by
5  11/3/2016
Wonderful, incredible, amazing school - gorgeous grounds, Wasc accreditation and Judaics and Hebrew program that teaches your child to question and be a kind compassionate person. I have three kids at chabad - came for a site visit and never left! Love the community and families there.
- Posted by
5  4/15/2016
We have had 3 kids attend this amazing school since preschool. Our first is now graduating 8th grade. I can't put our feelings about this school into words. It's a family and our kids have grown into beautiful people because of it. The staff is amazing and the environment even better. Go Blue Stars!!!
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
We just started this year at the preschool and have been thrilled all around! My favorite is that the energy on campus is of complete happiness at all times! Teachers and kids alike genuinely seem content to be there!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in San Diego, CA is $8,395 for elementary schools and $17,088 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in San Diego, CA is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).