Charlotte Country Day School

previous
At Country Day, we introduce young people to world of ideas. We offer students and their families an unsurpassed opportunity to prepare for the future.
next
At Country Day, we introduce young people to world of ideas. We offer students and their families an unsurpassed opportunity to prepare for the future.
  • Country Day Ready: At Charlotte Country Day, we introduce young people to the world of ideas.
  • We encourage them to be curious, we show them how to build on their inherent strengths, and we make them ready to tackle complex challenges.
  • For more than 70 years, we have have prepared the next generation of leaders, thinkers, and doers to be Country Day Ready.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Institute for Independent Education
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
International Baccalaureate (IB) World School
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Year Founded1941

Student Body

Total Students1660 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
19%
State avg.: 18%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers202 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
56%
Number of AP Courses22 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 15 / Mar. 1
Yearly Tuition Cost$16,520
Tuition Notes16,520-22,995 (depending on grade level)
% on Financial Aid
16%
Admissions DirectorNancy Ehringhaus

Sports

Total Sports Offered18 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Field Hockey, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, Winter Track, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
DanceField Hockey,
FootballGolf,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Ultimate FrisbeeVolleyball,
Winter TrackWrestling,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Charlotte
    Grades: PK-12 | 1608 students
    1.5 miles
    5800 Sardis Road
    Charlotte, NC 28270
    (704)887-7040
    1.5PK-12
    1608
  • Charlotte
    Grades: PK-12 | 993 students
    1.8 miles
    7301 Sardis Rd
    Charlotte, NC 28270
    (704)366-5657
    1.8PK-12
    993
  • Charlotte
    Grades: PK-12 | 1401 students
    5 miles
    9502 Providence Road
    Charlotte, NC 28277
    (704)846-1100
    5PK-12
    1401
  • Charlotte
    Grades: NS-12 | 584 students
    9.4 miles
    333 Jeremiah Blvd
    Charlotte, NC 28262
    (704)599-9015
    9.4NS-12
    584
  • Charlotte
    Grades: PK-8 | 422 students
    1.8 miles
    212 Boyce Rd
    Charlotte, NC 28211
    (704)366-5994
    1.8PK-8
    422

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  7/19/2017
We have had the experience with two boys at CCDS. My oldest is now a rising senior and was recruited to another academic opportunity at a boarding school in 11th grade. When he arrived at his new highly competitive, rigorous new curriculum, CCDS had more than prepared him for not only the work load, but the time management piece. He was ready to deepen his learning in certain subjects only because of his years at CCDS.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I am a parent of two Upper School students at CCDS and we have had an amazing experience since coming in Kindergarten (one in JK). I have been very involved in the Parents'' Association so have seen what goes on behind the scenes and can honestly tell you that this school and the administrators, faculty and staff live by their mission and make choices always that are in the best interests of the students. The quality of teaching is top notch, the sports and arts programs are extensive and well run, the college guidance department alone is worth the price of tuition! It's a caring, family environment and community of adults coming together to nurture and grow our children. I highly recommend this school!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Country Day has been an excellent school for our 3 children. Each has a different learning style which their teachers have identified, embraced and nurtured. Development of the whole child is a priority from JK-12. We have been so pleased with this community of caring.
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
I am a current 8th grader at CCDS. Charlotte Country Day School has been a great place for me to grow up, and i cant imagine going to another school. Everyone is nice and caring. The middle school is absolutely exceptional. The academic classes are difficult but with the help of the outstanding teachers, students like me can succeed. All teachers never get annoyed with students. We are free to ask questions and we are helped until a full understanding is gained. With only about 16 students per class, there can be class discussions and students can speak out without the worry of disrupting a big class. Each classroom is like a community, and by the end of the year your class feels like your family. The teachers include humor in their lessons to make sure that students can focus. There is also great music, art, and drama programs. In 5th and 6th grade, students get to take art, drama, and their choice of music: band, orchestra, or general music (chorus and other instruments). Then in 7th grade students choose which of the 3 courses they would like to continue in. PE is great too. The PE coaches are very friendly and make all games fun and make sure we all have positive attitudes. I feel like PE kept me fit while not being so difficult that others who are not as athletic cannot thrive. We run mile twice every 3 weeks and play a variety of sports such as tennis, pickle ball, mat ball(my favorite!), scatter ball, soccer, basketball, and track and field. Even if i am not good at a particular sport, i am never scared to participate, for when someone messes up, everyone just laughs with them and it is a lot of fun. Outside of school, there are great sport programs. I personally played tennis and lacrosse and i like both very much. There are some sports that are no-cut, while others cut some players from the team. However, from my experience, very few people get cut, and the ones who do are the people who usually do not play the sport and simply wanted to try it. I love CCDS, and i will most definitely stay to be a Country Day lifer.
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
We have 2 children at Country Day. The school is academically challenging, while being able to balance having nurturing teachers. The school does a great job creating well rounded children. In lower school our kids have a ton of specials. Our kids love the presidential fitness challenge. What a great way to motivate children to be active!
- Posted by
5  6/16/2013
I am a parent with children in all three divisions, and I believe CCDS provides an outstanding and well rounded education. CCDS is much more rigorous academically than our previous public school and provides greater opportunities in athletics, community service, and art due to the smaller size. The strong, involved faculty and highly motivated students really encourage kids to do their best. My kids have made great friendships as well. I highly recommend CCDS!
- Posted by
5  3/11/2013
Fosters academic excellence, strong character development, cultural curiosity in children. Great school-family community. Arts and culture support, athletic support and caring faculty open to new ideas.
- Posted by
5  7/27/2012
We have 2 children at CCDS, academically the school is excellent, the teachers are loving and engaged. There is a culture of kindness throughout the school, students and faculty.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 29, 2017
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
October 24, 2017
There are a lot of misconceptions about private schools. This is probably because private schools are indeed private.
October 24, 2017
When making an important decision that will impact the lives of your children, you need to have all the facts in place. We compiled a list of the most important factors to consider when choosing a final private school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Charlotte, NC is $13,816 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Charlotte, NC is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).