French American School Of Puget Sound

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (206)275-3533
  • The French American School of Puget Sound is a renowned pioneer of bilingual education in the Northwest.
  • Now serving over 435 students from age 3 to Grade 8, FASPS offers a harmonized curriculum, taught in French and in English, that utilizes the highest standards of the French and American educational systems.
  • The result is a creative and stimulating program of instruction designed to challenge the individual student, blending intellectual rigor and personal exploration in the classroom.
  • The multicultural and diverse community creates a global framework for learning that fundamentally influences our students' worldview.
  • FASPS students become bilingual and regularly score higher than the national average on standardized texts in reading, math and science. They go on to attend some of the most prestigious private and public secondary schools in the nation and around the world.
  • FASPS is accredited by the French Ministry of Education, the State of Washington, NAIS, and NWAIS, and is conveniently located just off I-90 on Mercer Island.
  • Financial Aid is available.  No French language experience required in Preschool or Kindergarten.
  • Please contact FASPS at (206) 275-3533 or at Admissions@FASPS.org for more information, or visit our website to sign up for admissions events.

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Northwest Association of Accredited Schools
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1995

Student Body

Total Students425 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
37%
State avg.: 27%
Students by GradeFrench American School Of Puget Sound Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
100%
Average Class Size16 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 12 / Feb. 6 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$19,876
Tuition NotesFinancial Aid available. Please contact the Admissions Office (275-3533 X 275 or patriciab@fasps.org) for more information
% on Financial Aid
22%
Admissions DirectorPatricia Blaise-Caves

Sports

Total Sports Offered7 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Fencing, Golf, Soccer, Swimming, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
FencingGolf,
SoccerSwimming,
Volleyball

School Notes

  • Our Mission: What We Do
  • We challenge students to excel academically and thrive in French, American and international cultures.Our Vision: Why We Do It
  • To inspire the next generation of global citizens to learn, understand, and act wisely in a multicultural world.
  • Our Core Values: Excellence, Integrity, Cultural Agility, Community
  • Our Motto: Excellence today, the world tomorrow/L'excellence aujourd'hui, le monde demain.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bellevue
    Grades: PK-8 | 320 students
    3 miles
    14615 SE 22nd Street
    Bellevue, WA 98007
    (425)641-5570
    3PK-8
    320
  • Bellevue
    Grades: PK-9 | 643 students
    4.9 miles
    14640 Ne 24th St
    Bellevue, WA 98007
    (425)649-0791
    4.9PK-9
    643
  • Redmond
    Grades: 5-12 | 527 students
    10.4 miles
    20301 NE 108th Street
    Redmond, WA 98053
    (425)868-1000
    10.45-12
    527
  • Redmond
    Grades: NS-12 | 794 students
    9.8 miles
    8905 208th Avenue NE
    Redmond, WA 98053
    (425)898-1720
    9.8NS-12
    794
  • Woodinville
    Chrysalis School
    Alternative School
    Grades: K-12
    11.8 miles
    15900 Woodinville-Redmond Rd
    Woodinville, WA 98072
    (425)481-2228
    11.8K-12
    n/a

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  12/27/2017
Our 2 children went to FASPS from Young PreK to PreK and from Young PreK to 2nd grade. We left the school due to an out-of state move. The school wonderfully combines both current French and US approach to learning and just keeps the best of both systems. Another strength of the school is the individualization of learning, depending on the kids level in both languages. A native French speaker, I was often impressed by the level of French spoken by the preschoolers! The teachers and administrative agents are great, quick to answer any questions. Both my kids adored all their teachers. The school is also very strong academically and in the arts, which was important for me.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I can't say enough good things about the school!! We have two children at the school. Our oldest started at age 3 and is now headed into the third grade. Our second child is starting his second year of preschool. We do not speak French and that does not negatively impact our involvement in the community nor does it impact our children's ability to excel. We have been extremely pleased with the caliber of the teaching staff and the engagement of the head of school and his team. We would HIGHLY recommend the school for the curriculum, the staff and the parent community!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I couldn't have asked for a better school for my shy 4 year old girl. On daily basis my daughter is challenged academically and intellectually. She is so proud to tell me nearly every day how many new things she has learned at school. This was impressive given the fact that she is a highly capable child. One of my concerns on starting new school (in a foreign language) was my daughter's shyness and her emotional development. In less than a month, my daughter had nearly a full class of best friends. I remain amazed at how well the school administration does in selecting families -I haven't met one family who felt like they didn't fit in (especially those who''ve been here for at least a year). Everyone at the school is so accommodating and supportive, and I know I can count on this school providing the best education for my daughter that I can get here in Seattle. Despite the lengthy commute and exhausting days, it has all been worth it.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We love FASPS. My daughter has been attending this school for three years starting in PK. The teaching staff has been excellent, knowledgeable, attentive, and caring. We have been so lucky and the quality of the teaching staff shows in our daughter who continues to thrive every year she is at FASPS. We are continually impressed with the personal attention our daughter receives as she gains an education at FASPS. We are not a French speaking family and our daughter's French is excellent. On a recent trip to Paris we were told that her accent was beautiful by many amazed Parisians. We also love the community the school creates around the students and families. We feel that our whole family has been enriched by FASPS, not just our daughter. I wholeheartedly recommend this school to anyone, not just for the fantastic bi-lingual program but also for the quality and care put into everything the school does. The administration is thoughtful, the lessons are engaging and creative, and the teachers are world class. The student body and their families are so privileged to be a part of this school and community.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My son is 4 years old and we do not speak French at home but we see the benefits of learning a second language. He really enjoyed learning French and the teachers are great. They work with each child to reinforce concepts in French and in English and my son loves to share the songs and words he learns at school. FASPS also has a great sense of community with the parents having the chance to help at the school with events like teacher appreciation luncheons. I would highly recommend the school!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
We love FASPS! This is our second year at the school and every day I count our blessings of being able to be part of this amazing community of parents, teachers, staff, and administration. On daily basis my daughter is challenged academically and intellectually. Everyone at the school is so accommodating and supportive, and I know I can count on this school providing the best education for my daughter in this Kindergarten year and the years to come! We toured, interviewed, and got accepted to many other high profile schools in Seattle area in 2012, but FASPS remains our #1 choice to this day. It has an efficient and effective administrative and curricular system that is not ran on arrogance and money, but on the premise of ''what is truly best for the child.''
- Posted by
5  4/10/2015
I love the French American School of Puget Sound. I came in as a sixth grader speaking nothing but French thinking I would not be able to adapt due to the language barrier. I was wrong. I found that the students, who all started at different levels of French, were all at an excellent level. Perhaps what makes FASPS so great is its bilingual education. The preschool is set up to be an immersion into the french language but progressively, the amount of english increases so that the middle schoolers reach the equal use of both languages. In the middle school, the French and English are both taught according to their curriculum in their respective languages. History and Math are taught separately in different languages, offering a wide range of knowledge because of the difference in material. The Spanish and Mandarin Chinese programs at FASPS are also incredible. There are after-school program in the elementary and classes in the middle school. I allows students to move up to a Spanish IV and Chinese III levels during their freshman year of high school, putting them at the top of their class. FASPS helped me get into the top private schools in the Seattle area, taught me English and made me part of a loving, tight community.
- Posted by
5  7/12/2013
Excellent bilingual (French-English) program from preschool through 8th grade. Our son has been at the school for the past two years and will be entering Kindergarten in the fall. The teachers at this level are outstanding combining a great balance of being warm and nurturing yet firm and structured. The school head is young, dynamic and provides excellent leadership to the school. We have been thrilled with our experience thus far and highly recommend the school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
January 07, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
December 27, 2017
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in King County, WA is $12,772 for elementary schools and $16,892 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in King County, WA is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).