Grace School

5.00 5 1 (19 reviews)
Tel: (713)782-4421
previous
next
  • At Grace School, one of the most respected private, Christian schools in Houston, you will find an environment that nurtures intellectual curiosity, develops a joyful enthusiasm for learning and encourages deep-felt concern for others.
  • Grace School is committed to providing students from 20 months through eighth grade with a high-quality, Christian education enriched by an intentional and engaging learning environment. We enable our students to become independent thinkers; achieving true academic success.
  • We strive to develop thoughtful, compassionate young people eager to engage in the world around them. Our class sizes are intentionally small yet attentive to the individual learner. Our vibrant, welcoming community gives our students the confidence to do their best.
  • Accredited by AdvancedED and the National Association for the Education of Young Children, our students are cherished by their teachers, respected by their peers, and are known and cared for by all.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
AdvancED
Religious AffiliationPresbyterian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1975
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 1996, 1997

Student Body

Total Students532 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeGrace School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers65 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size15 students
Classroom Dress CodeFormal

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 26 / rolling
Admissions DirectorNicole Humlicek

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Drill Team, Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Drill TeamFootball,
SoccerSoftball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.After-school Enrichment Classes, Band, Choir, Recreation Ministry Sports, Student Council, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts Band, Choir, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts, After-school Enrichment Classes,
Recreation Ministry Sports,
Student Council,

School Notes

Grace School`s mission is to provide a rigorous educational program that prepares students for success at the next level. Our teachers demonstrate a deep developmental level of each child and implore a vast variety of instructional strategies tailored to best meet the individual needs of our students. In 1975, Grace Presbyterian Church founded a Christian school to serve as an extension of the church. The mission was to introduce students to Jesus Christ and teach the importance of becoming strong Christian leaders as part of the overall education.

Over the next four decades, the story of Grace is the story of a community dedicated to shaping the next generation of leaders, problem solvers and good citizens. It`s that relentless pursuit of excellence that`s been graduating leaders for more than four decades. 

Grace Primary School provides pre-school aged students opportunities to cultivate an enduring love of learning. Children learn in a structured program that emphasizes creative expression and learning through music and dramatic play. Parents can be assured of a loving, secure, yet challenging atmosphere. In 2016, Grace Lower School was designated the first certified STEM program in the state of Texas. Lower School is also known for building strong school-initiated family and community relationships. Whether chaperoning a field trip, serving as a mystery reader for your child`s class, or simply having lunch with your child, discover the magic that happens when you can partner with your child`s teacher and become an integral part of your child`s education. Grace Middle School provides the guidance and support needed to navigate their adolescent years. Dedicated teachers embrace the diverse interests of students and explicitly prepare and guide students through the application process for high school.

In addition to the four core academic areas, Grace is proud to offer:
  • A unique Christian Studies experience allowing students to study the Bible, build a personal relationship with the Lord, and develop a servant`s heart;
  • Two nationally certified outdoor learning facilities;
  • A first-class athletics complex;
  • A wide-array of after-school enrichment opportunities that allow students explore and develop various interests;
  • A digital library that gives students 24/7 access to thousands of e-books;
  • State of the art technology in our classrooms, Makers` Spaces, and STEM Labs;
  • Studio art, band, music, choir, theater, and media arts opportunities
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-5 | 174 students
    0.1 miles
    2525 Seagler Rd
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)783-0260
    0.1NS-5
    174
  • Houston
    Wesley Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 141 students
    1.3 miles
    10570 Westpark Drive
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)458-4756
    1.3PK-8
    141
  • Houston
    Grades: K-5 | 64 students
    3.2 miles
    1315 S Dairy Ashford St
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)493-3700
    3.2K-5
    64
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-8 | 855 students
    6.8 miles
    2300 Willowick Rd
    Houston, TX 77027
    (713)623-6938
    6.8PK-8
    855
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-8 | 720 students
    5 miles
    1400 Parkway Plaza Drive
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-1500
    5PK-8
    720

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (19 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I am a current Grace School parent and I''m extremely pleased with my child's experience. My son is a PreK 4 student and LOVES his school!!! We took him out of the daycare he attended since he was a baby and put him here...night and day! This is our first year and we thought it would be a hard transition but not at all. The people here are so loving and 10 students compared to the 28 in his last school is amazing. His teacher knows exactly what he needs and is always attentive. Communication is wonderful as well. I couldn't imagine him attending any other school.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
This is my fifth year teaching and my second year at Grace. My teaching experience at Grace School has been nothing but amazing! The class size is small enough so that I am able to provide support and challenge each and every one of my students. I am able to get the opportunity to truly understand each child so that I can make an impact on their learning. The administration and faculty are wonderful to work with. We all truly care about each other and the success of all of our students. I couldn't imagine being at a better place than Grace!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our two sons have attended Grace School from preschool forward. Our eldest is now in 4th, and our youngest in 1st. Both absolutely love their school, and look forward to going everyday. The teachers are engaging, and the atmosphere is very family oriented. Feels like a small town setting in the midst of a bustling city. Grace can't be beat!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Grace School has beyond met our expectations!!!!!!!! Our daughter is in her second year here and the environment is such a loving, safe and comfortable one that she has just been able to grow. She loves coming to school and is excited to see what everyday holds. The teachers and staff have made our family feel so welcome!! We love to share with friends and family all the exciting things going on in the classroom at Grace. Our daughter's learning has excelled because of the exceptional environment provided at Grace. We are proud to be a Grace family and would recommend Grace to ANYONE!!!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I have one daughter that graduated from Grace in 2009 (currently a freshman at OU) and a daughter that is in 5th grade. Grace has always been her school "home." The teachers have made such an impact in her spiritual and academic life. With the challenges that life brings at every turn it's always a comfort to know that school is a safe place for her to learn and grow, but also a safe place to fall. Her teachers have gone the extra mile time and time again. Everyone truly becomes a family.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I have been a teacher and parent at Grace School for the last six years and I have never experienced a community as nurturing and welcoming as the one that is provided at this school. The teachers are dedicated to continued learning and strive to provide a curriculum and learning environment that is equitable, challenging, engaging, and relevant. My son has attended Grace since the age of two and throughout that time he has grown in all areas and is thriving. Seeing the positive effect that Grace has had on him is a true testimony to the amazing program and staff at this school. I would recommend Grace to anyone who is in search of a school and community that is committed to their child's development and success.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I am currently a Grace School parent and educator. This school is a Houston gem! Rarely, do you find an institute where children's hearts and minds are nurtured yet challenged with age appropriate rigor. The real world application and "out of the box" thinking that occurs here is a joy to watch. The students and faculty serve others with happy hearts.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I am a preschool teacher at Grace School, and cannot explain in words how much I LOVE working here. The families are all so very nice and their children are as sweet as can be! We have Chapel every Wednesday, the kids LOVE learning about Jesus and praising him through fun songs and dances. Grace School is an excellent place for children to learn about Jesus and academics as well.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have been a teacher at Grace School for over 8 years in primary school. Our quality program has helped students reach new heights while caring to the whole child. We help prepare students for future success throughout their education. We also center our program around Christ to help build a strong faith-based foundation.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
It is an honor to serve at such an amazing school! Grace School is dedicated to the growth and development of the students in every area of life. I have always felt so taken care of by the community of people and I cannot imagine teaching anywhere else!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Grace is a wonderful environment! This is my second year teaching at Grace. The staff is great, the parents are great, and the curriculum is age appropriate. Children are challenged with a variety of activities daily. They are able to explore things hands-on. We are not afraid to get messy! We have made play-dough and a piñata this school! We believe that children learn from their experience from the environment they are experiencing.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Best-Value Private Christian School If there was a Princeton Review for primary, lower, and middle school private education, The Grace School would be ranked in the top three schools in Houston based on academic quality and cost of attendance. Truly, amidst a sea of educational options, The Grace School is a beacon to many in its academic excellence while firmly holding to its faith based heritage. My wife and I have watched our daughter blossom into her own person since attending The Grace School. Through the nurturing faculty and staff, The Grace School offers a distinctive uniqueness to each child by encouraging them to develop mentally, socially, spiritually, and physically as a whole person. We believe a Grace School education is the greatest gift we can give our daughter to help her prepare for a successful future. Bottom line: Best value for our money, Christian environment, phenomenal teachers, engaged administration, and state of the art facilities. -- Betsy and John
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Grace School is the best environment for kids ! I LOVE working at Grace!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have been a teacher at Grace School for 4 years and am now a parent of the school as well. I trust the teachers here to create a positive atmosphere and also embrace the teachings of Jesus Christ in doing so. My daughter has transitioned well and asks everyday to ''go to school with mommy.'' It definitely gives me the peace of mind I need to continue with my day.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Grace School is an extraordinary place to work and has a high level of professionalism and teamwork that I have rarely seen in other schools and is more like a family in many ways. Grace School strives for excellence and utilizes new and innovative techniques to help students learn and succeed. Most importantly, Grace School emphasizes the teachings of Jesus Christ and helps students to build a firm foundation in their faith that will last a lifetime. I am also a parent and wouldnt'' want my child anywhere else! Grace is the place to be!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I love working at a school where everyone cares about each other, students and faculty are well known, and I feel like I am a member of the Grace School Family! I have been teaching at Grace School since 2008. My child is in the Early Childhood program. She is excited to wake up in the morning and be with her friends and teachers. We plan on keeping her at Grace School until the 8th grade.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I am a parent and a staff at Grace School. And I can say that this is a great school with supportive teachers, and great parent involvement and support. The campus is beautifully kept and you can see how the children and staff enjoy being there. It is a school with academic rigor, and lots of extracurricular activities needed to perform in the real world including music, art, computer class library, science lab, Spanish and Bible. As a staff I really enjoy watching the kids coming from the gym because health and fitness class is always fun and filled with music. This is a school with cultural and racial diversity found only in the best schools. It is truly an amazing place.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My children have been at Grace School for the last 6 years. They have created a home here that would be hard to replicate. The staff is warm and caring. The parents are involved and supportive as well.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have been a Grace School Board member for the past few years. The Head of School, the Heads of Primary, Lower and Middle School and teachers can be commended for their dedication to provide an exceptional educational experience to the children of Grace School. The strong Christian environment coupled with an outstanding educational curriculum, art and athletic programs provide the children with one of the best Private School experiences in Houston.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $9,218 for elementary schools and $15,292 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).