Yorkshire Academy

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (281)531-6088
  • At Yorkshire Academy, we cultivate qualities of character, citizenship, and academic curiosity in a safe, secure, and loving environment, providing personal and engaging educational opportunities in academics and the visual and performing arts.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Texas Association of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS)
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-5
Year Founded1984

Student Body

Total Students294 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
28%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeYorkshire Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers44 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size14 students
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(uniform - visit website for examples)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition varies by program.
Admissions DirectorYvonne Galloway
Admissions AssociateVivien Crain

Sports

Total Sports Offered12 sports
SportsBallet, Baseball, Basketball, Dance, Fencing, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBalletBaseball,
BasketballDance,
FencingFlag Football,
FootballGolf,
RugbySoccer,
TennisVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.18 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Chess, Chinese, Engineering

Arts and Music Programs:
Art, Building Brains, ComedySportz Improv, Dance, guitar, Music in Me, piano, Spanish

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Baseball, Golf, Soccer, T ball, Tae Kwon Do, Tennis, Yoga

School Notes

  • Our PhilosophyYorkshire Academy is a welcoming, joyful school built and supported by students, teachers, and parents working together in a spirit of mutual trust and respect. We believe that responsibility, collaboration, and intellectual curiosity develop when students are known by their teachers and classmates and feel appreciated for what they do best.We respect each student`s individuality. We invest time and energy in helping students understand that they are worthy, have talent, and can succeed. We build confidence, encouraging students to understand that risks are worth taking and failure is a learning opportunity. We encourage students to stretch beyond their current achievements and points of view, thereby helping them build self-esteem and pride of accomplishment.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Wesley Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 141 students
    4.3 miles
    10570 Westpark Drive
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)458-4756
    4.3PK-8
    141
  • Houston
     Grace School
    (Presbyterian)
    Grades: NS-8 | 527 students
    3.1 miles
    10219 Ella Lee
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)782-4421
    3.1NS-8
    527
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-8 | 720 students
    2.5 miles
    1400 Parkway Plaza Drive
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-1500
    2.5PK-8
    720
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-8 | 145 students
    1.7 miles
    1424 Sherwood Forest Street
    Houston, TX 77043
    (713)465-0288
    1.7NS-8
    145
  • Bellaire
    Grades: PK-8 | 212 students
    8.6 miles
    7000 Ferris Street
    Bellaire, TX 77401
    (713)773-9605
    8.6PK-8
    212

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  11/24/2017
Due to my sisters treatment in Houston, during 2016 we moved her kids from Dubai to this city to keep the family together. Patrick, my 5 year old, was accepted at Yorkshire Academy. Already from the day of the interviews we fell in love with the school and the community. From the day he got admitted, Yorkshire felt like home. Considering the circumstances we were in, in terms of my sisters progressive deterioration, not only did Yorkshire made his entrance easy, but they joined us all along the way, until my sisters passing. Now Patrick is back in Dubai because of his dad's work. It is not only about academic performance, infrastructure, its more than that to us and Yorkshire is family now. We as a family strongly recommend Yorkshire for anyone who wishes their kids to grow and be educated in a professional but warm, loving environment. The tie with them will hold, as this school showed generosity, empathy and the highest standards in terms of education.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
My 2 daughters graduated from Yorkshire Academy over 7 years ago, but we still return for special events and to visit the teachers and staff. Our experience at YA, was beyond exceptional. The ration of child to teacher truly lead to an excellent learning experience. . The music programs and other educational events were outstanding. I have recommended YA to many parents of pre K through 5th grade age. I accredit my daughters'' success in High School and college to the fantastic foundation of learning at YA
- Posted by
5  1/14/2017
We have 4 children who attended YA for the past 3 years. This school has great class sizes and the teachers were amazing with all 4 of our children whilst we were there. They went out of their way to help one of our children in particular. We cannot fault the school and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody.
- Posted by
5  6/13/2016
Our two children have attended Yorkshire Academy for the last four years. We were looking for an education that would enable our children to transition in to the British education system seamlessly at some stage in the future. The depth and variety of Yorkshire Academy's curriculum means our kids are now well placed to return to the British, or any international system at any stage. The student:teacher ratio has allowed for a great deal of focused attention when required and our boys have clearly benefited from that experience. The teachers through the years have always worked closely with both the children and parents to ensure the children are sufficiently challenged and gratified in their achievements. Both children now display a degree of confidence at such a young age that only the US education system seems to be able to offer. A major benefit of such a small school is that all the children, no matter the age, seemed to know each other, making for a very welcoming and comfortable environment. With both parents working, it was nice to know that additional support was easily available both before and after core hours. Our kids will be sad to leave Yorkshire Academy now we're leaving Houston, but are clearly very well placed for their experience, seeing each move as an adventure.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We were fortunate enough to be a part of the Yorkshire Academy family for 3.5 years while we lived in Houston. We had moved there from Canada, where I had been teaching for 10 years, and so when looking for a school I was looking both as a parent and an educator. I could not have asked for a better beginning to my kids academic career than Yorkshire. The entire faculty truly love their jobs, the school, each other, and most importantly the students. I have worked in many schools and have never seen a more positive school environment than YA. The curriculum is innovative and top notch, the building and amenities are constantly being improved upon, the after school opportunities are varied and of very high quality. Respect, tolerance and love of each other is constantly enforced in the student body and I truly couldn't have asked for a nicer group of kids for my kids to call their friends. When we decided to return to Canada, leaving Yorkshire Academy was by far the hardest thing for us to leave. Again, looking at the school both as a parent and as an educator, I can't say enough good things about Yorkshire and I am so grateful we were fortunate to have the years there we did.
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
As and educator, I had my bar set pretty high, when searching for a Preschool for my daughter. Yorkshire was highly recommended to me by a friend. I can honestly say, my bar has been met, and SURPASSED! We LOVE Yorkshire Academy! My daughter is in the Preschool class, and everything has been wonderful. The quality of the staff, the depth and variety of activities offered, and the knowledge my daughter has gained at Yorkshire, can only be described as exceptional. We truly feel that we've become part of the Yorkshire family. My daughter is already registered for the Pre-K class in the fall; and my 2 year old son will start the Cottage Program as well!! Thank you Yorkshire!!
- Posted by
5  10/8/2015
We were fortunate enough to be part of the Yorkshire Acaddmy family for 8 years. We moved to Texas from the UK and both our children attended the school from 18months old. We were so sad to leave, the school is so nurturing and everyone knows everyone. It is so friendly and the kids learnt and did so much. It is very well rounded, academically and also arts and music, which is why we loved the school so much. I can't say enough good things, we were so sad to leave and would totally recommend the school to anyone!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Yorkshire is a great school with excellent social and emotional student growth; and a school-wide climate of high expectations. It has been a wonderful experience for our family and we could not be more pleased with Yorkshire.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Our family is so happy we found this school and we were lucky to get in. Our daughter absolutely loves it. She has learned so much and met many friends. The staff is amazing, all the teachers are very sweet and caring. Lots of afternoon classes for all ages that are very convenient. As a working couple we really appreciate that the school provides care after regular hours.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $9,272 for elementary schools and $15,880 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).