The King's Academy

The King's Academy is a Christ-centered, college prep school for grades 6-12.
TKA inspires academic excellence, servant leadership, and enduring relationships.
Our 1:1 technology program and collaborative classroom environment ensures students are responsible digital and global citizens with 21st century literacy skills.
Through TKA`s Spiritual Life program and Service Trips, students grow in their faith and make a difference to others.
TKA offers a stellar Visual and Performing Arts program known throughout the Bay Area and fields 55 competitive athletic teams.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked CA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Enrollment: 988 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $23,949
  • Average class size: 18 students
  • Application Deadline: Feb. 28 / rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

School News

  • TKA Receives PLATINUM Honor from College Board - 10/17/2023
    College Board announced that The King's Academy has been named to the Advanced Placement Program (AP) School Honor Roll, earning PLATINUM, the highest distinction (bronze, silver, gold, or platinum). The ...moreAP School Honor Roll recognizes schools whose AP programs are delivering results for students while broadening access. Schools can earn this recognition annually based on criteria that reflect a commitment to increasing college-going culture, providing opportunities for students to earn college credit, and maximizing college readiness. Details here. hide
  • TKA "Full STEAM Ahead Campaign" to Raise Funds for New Building - 09/20/2023
    We knew God had big plans for our campus when He made it possible for TKA to acquire the V Building, a 32,000-square-foot, two-story building.We plan to renovate it into ...morea new STEAM building (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Math) complete with science labs and a 3,000-square-foot Makerspace. This space will be a place for hands-on learning and collaboration, where our students can design whatever they dream.The V Building will cost $6 million to remodel. While we are grateful for having raised nearly $4 million so far, we still need to raise an additional $2 million this year. hide
  • TKA Announces New Head of School: Jeff Freeman - 07/05/2023
    Jeff Freeman began his tenure of Head of School on July 5, 2023.
  • The King's Academy Honors a Presidential Scholar Semifinalist and 23 National Merit® Scholars - 05/26/2023
    The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The King's Academy is proud to recognize these outstanding ...morescholars in the Class of 2023 hide
  • Knights Brigade Wins WBA Class 1A & Places Historic 3rd in Grand Championships! - 11/20/2022
    Knights Brigade wrapped up the season on a literal high note with a new record-breaking score of 89.225 at WBA Grand Championships in Ontario on November 19-20. Knights Brigade students ...moreare proud to be redefining what "small bands" can do. With this year's show, "Ghost Train Redux," they won Class 1A on Saturday, allowing them to compete at Grand Championships on Sunday, where they then won the 3rd place trophy and medals for combined Classes 1A/2A/3A bands. hide
  • The King's Academy Named "Apple Distinguished School"! - 10/03/2022
    The King's Academy is pleased to announce that it has been selected as an Apple Distinguished School for 20222025. TKA is recognized for its innovative 1:1 technology program and for ...moreintegrating technology into the curriculum to enhance the student-learning experience. Notable technology integrations include the application of Pages to create infographics, iMovie to create multimedia presentations, and GarageBand to create podcasts. Every TKA classroom is equipped with the latest Apple TV 4K. hide
  • TKA Recognized as "Common Sense School"! - 08/08/2022
    Earning the Common Sense School badge is a symbol of a TKA's dedication to helping students think critically and use technology responsibly to learn, create, and participate, while limiting the ...moreperils that exist in the online realm, such as plagiarism, loss of privacy, and cyberbullying. The recognition acknowledges our school's commitment to creating a culture of digital citizenship."We applaud the faculty and staff of The King`s Academy for embracing digital citizenship as an important part of their students' education," said Liz Kline, VP, Education Programs, Common Sense Education. "The King`s Academy deserves high praise for giving its students the foundational skills they need to compete and succeed in the 21st-century workplace and participate ethically in society at large." hide
  • Inspiring Servant Leadership: TKA Sending 613 to Serve 16 Local Community Organizations - 04/07/2022
    One of the four core values of The King`s Academy mission is servant leadership. To that end, TKA dedicates a school week each year to send high school students, teachers, ...moreand parents to serve others both locally and globally. Service Week is an integral part of the educational and spiritual experience at TKA. For the first time, TKA is dedicating all of Service Week (April 11-14, 2022) to serving locally. Service exposes students to communities in need, challenges them to be representatives of God`s love, and teaches them the meaning of sacrifice. The hope is students are transformed and become invested in service for life. hide
  • ...read more

Top Rankings

The King's Academy ranks among the top 20% of private schools in California for:

Category
Attribute
Sports offered

School Overview

Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades 6-12
ADD/ADHD Support
Yes
Learning Difference Programs
Yes
Learning Programs Supported
Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded
1991
Summer School Offered
Yes

Student Body

Total Students
988 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
22%
State avg.: 51%
Students by Grade
The King's Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
77 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
58%
Average Class Size
18 students
Number of AP Courses
18 courses
List of Courses Offered
Advanced Courses
AP US Government & Politics, AP 2-D Art, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Chinese Language & Culture, AP Computer Science A, AP Computer Science Principles, AP English Language & Composition, AP English Literature & Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP French Language & Culture, AP Macroeconomics, AP Modern World History, AP Physics 1, AP Pre-Calculus, AP Psychology, AP Spanish Language & Culture, AP Statistics, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP US History
Average SAT score
1330
Average ACT score
32
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Casual
Guidelines are enforced

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
Feb. 28 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost
Tuition Notes
Junior high and high school rates differ. Discounts for additional child. More info at: www.tka.org
% on Financial Aid
18%
Admissions Director
Michele Duncan
Admissions Associate
Grace Marandino
Endowment Size
$4 million

Sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
19 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Missions Trips in US and Abroad

Club or Organization:
Debate Team, Jr. High Math Team, Robotics Team, Speech and Debate, Student Council and Class Leadership, Student Literary Magazine, Variety of Clubs and Service Organizations

Arts and Music Programs:
Choir, Drill Team, Jesters Theatre Troupe, Junior High and High School Drama, Knights Brigade Marching Band, Knightshine Show Choir, Mixed Choir, Orchestra, Winter Percussion

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Athletics, Esports Team

School Notes

  • 1. Attend an Open House:Our Open Houses are held in October and December each fall (check website for details at www.tka.org)
  • 2. Join a Campus Tour:Toursare Tuesdays (all grades)and Fridays at 9:00 a.m. (7th-12th grades); Fridays at 1:30 p.m. (6th grade only).However, we are happy to accommodate your schedule if neither of these days will work for you. Please contact the Admissions Office at admissions@tka.org or call (408) 481-9900 x4222.
  • 3. Encourage Your Student to Shadow: Shadow Days are every Tuesday and Thursday from8:35 a.m. - 2:50 p.m. Parents are invited to stay for a short introduction to TKA's Shadow Day from 8:40-8:55 a.m.Your student will be assigned to a student host who has been specifically selected and trained for this important role. Visiting students will shadow in the grade for which they are applying. The assigned host will be the same gender as your student. Toarrange for your child to shadow, please contact admissions@tka.org, or call (408) 481-9900 x4222.
  • 4. Submit an Application: Priority applications are due January 1. Regular applications are due February 28.
Source: Verified school update

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does The King's Academy cost?
The King's Academy's tuition is approximately $23,949 for private students.
What sports does The King's Academy offer?
The King's Academy offers 14 interscholastic sports: Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, E-sports, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball and Wrestling. The King's Academy is ranked as one of the top 20% of private schools in California for most sports offered.
What is The King's Academy's ranking?
The King's Academy ranks among the top 20% of private schools in California for: Highest average ACT score, Largest student body, Most sports offered and Most extracurriculars offered.
When is the application deadline for The King's Academy?
The application deadline for The King's Academy is Feb. 28 / rolling (applications are due on Feb. 28 but additional applications are reviewed year-round as space permits ).

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  
The best decision that we have made sending our boys to The Kings Academy. Amazing teachers and staff that genuinely care and love our kids. A true Christian atmosphere that challenges the student academically and spiritually. Their sports program is outstanding, and they have the best athletic director you can ask for. Our boys are now well prepared for college and life.
- Posted by
5  
Moving our son to King's was the best decision we made three weeks into his 7th-grade year. As a current 9th grader, he is thriving. Kings have so many opportunities and each program (although we are mostly part of the performing arts) is amazing. We love that there are so many opportunities for him to join different clubs and groups. He is challenged and engaged and looks forward to attending Kings each day. As parents, we couldn't be more thrilled.
- Posted by
5  
As a parent, I love The Kings Academy and its educational and theological experience. The staff, and team do a lot for the kiddos and we appreciate all their support.
- Posted by
5  
The King's Academy is an exceptional school. My kids are so grateful for the opportunity God has given to them to be able to attend this school. I am pleased with the amount of workload they have. It is vigorous and challenging and they learned so much, but they also have lots of fun along the way. They have made some really awesome Christ-centered friends. They would come home and share lots of very interesting stories with me from Chapel and their classes. The teachers are very committed to the kids. They dedicate a lot of work and time to ensure that the kids understand the materials in their classes. I've attended some of the theater programs and it is so professionally done.
- Posted by
5  
The King's Academy (TKA) is a highly respected Christian college-preparatory School in Sunnyvale CA. As a parent of a 6th-student who attends TKA, I appreciate how the teachers and administrators have proper biblical standards and boundaries, but discipline is always handled in a confidential, loving, and professional way. In the same way, they encourage all the students to have fun, but everyone knows where the boundaries are. The teaching is so incredibly sensitive to the learning needs of every student. All the teachers manage to gear their instruction to individual students so well that sometimes I think that my son is getting a private tutor in terms of how well the teachers accommodate his learning style The only difference between home-schooling and TKA is that my son is having a blast with his friends and in all the sports, clubs and activities he's engaged in. The school says on its website that it takes having fun seriously. It's true. The administration and parent volunteers spend a lot of time and effort on school-wide activities in home groups, chapels, theater and broadcast productions, student retreats, clubs, lunches with teachers, and sports and after-school events. It seems like every week there are three or four fun and interesting things going on at the school. When TKA gives the students so many fun events and activities, it puts the students and administration on the same side: everyone wants the students to work hard and have fun at the same time. Consequently, almost no shenanigans are happening whereby the students who are starved for fun and fellowship feel they have to break any rules or go against the staff or faculty to kill boredom or monotony. Besides being a parent of a TKA student, I'm also a substitute teacher at TKA. Therefore, I know the school from an insider's perspective. I see firsthand how hard the faculty and staff cater to the academic and spiritual needs of the student body. TKA treats every student like he or she is: a fearfully and wonderfully made individual created in the likeness of God with incredible potential to bless themselves, their family, their community, and the world with their unique God-given talent and abilities. TKA's sole mission is to develop its students to their full potential in Christ. And they are very successful in doing that. The love and attention given to the student body are exhibited by the real feeling of warmth and fellowship everyone at the school has for each other. I pay full tuition for my son to go to TKA, and I feel that he and I are getting more than our money's worth. The academics are fantastic, and there's so much going on. The activities and events are endless. And people get along very well here. The community is one body in Christ that exhibits all the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.TKA. What a blessing!
- Posted by
5  
King's is great! The teachers are great and always ready to help if needed. The student body is a bit small, but it's compensated by the fun events like Spirit Week and class retreats.
- Posted by

Endorse The King's Academy. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

Making Social Media Work for Your School
Making Social Media Work for Your School
An introduction to using Facebook, YouTube and Pinterest to promote your school.
SEO for Private Schools - Part 3: Using Social Media
SEO for Private Schools - Part 3: Using Social Media
Social media for private K-12 schools is a bit different from social media for businesses. Some tips and strategies here.
The Pros and Cons of Teaching Overseas
The Pros and Cons of Teaching Overseas
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked CA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Enrollment: 988 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $23,949
  • Average class size: 18 students
  • Application Deadline: Feb. 28 / rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Sunnyvale, CA is $20,515 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).

Quick Links