West-Mont Christian Academy

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
Tel: (610)326-7690
  • The mission of West-Mont Christian Academy is to bring God's truth and purpose into the lives of our students.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedSpecial Needs and Learning Support available
Year Founded1980
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in n/a

Student Body

Total Students192 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
2%
State avg.: 22%
Students by GradeWest-Mont Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers27 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
15%
Average Class Size17 students
Number of AP Courses4 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAP English Literature, AP Calculus, AP American History, AP Environmental Sciences, Online AP classes offered as well
Average SAT score1200
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Dress Code - no uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$7,870
Tuition NotesDiscounts for 2nd & 3rd children Need-based scholarships available
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant$1,200
Admissions DirectorMelissa Newton

Sports

Total Sports Offered7 sports
SportsArchery, Baseball, Basketball, Soccer, Softball, Volleyball, WrestlingArcheryBaseball,
BasketballSoccer,
SoftballVolleyball,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Community Service Projects, International Missions Trips, National Honor Society Chapter, Student Council

Arts and Music Programs:
Christmas and Spring Concerts, Instrumental Recitals, Spring Musical

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Karate Clu

School Notes

  • West-Mont Christian Academy is located in Pottstown, PA, a Philadelphia area suburb. We are a dually accredited academy, offering schooling for grades K-12. We offer a variety of sports, fine arts, and rigorous academics, including advanced placement opportunities for college credit. Busing is provided from 12 public school districts: Boyertown, Oley, Perkiomen Valley, Spring Ford, Phoenixville, Owen J. Roberts, Downingtown, Twin Valley, Exeter, Pottstgrove, Daniel Boone, Pottstown (K-5 only in Pottstown). Visit www.west-mont.org for more information on our programs.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Pottstown
    Grades: NS-12 | 329 students
    3.6 miles
    699 N Pleasantview Rd
    Pottstown, PA 19464
    (610)326-3320
    3.6NS-12
    329
  • Paoli
     Delaware Valley Friends School
    Special Education School (Friends)
    Grades: 3-12 | 188 students
    15.8 miles
    19 E Central Ave
    Paoli, PA 19301
    (610)640-4150
    15.83-12
    188
  • Birdsboro
    Grades: PK-12 | 178 students
    9.4 miles
    926 Philadelphia Ter
    Birdsboro, PA 19508
    (610)582-1000
    9.4PK-12
    178
  • Pottstown
    Grades: NS-8 | 234 students
    2.3 miles
    1395 Wilson Street
    Pottstown, PA 19464
    (610)326-0544
    2.3NS-8
    234
  • Pine Forge
    Pine Forge Academy
    (Seventh Day Adventist)
    Grades: 9-12 | 185 students
    4.1 miles
    Po Box 338
    Pine Forge, PA 19548
    (610)326-5800
    4.19-12
    185

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  10/1/2016
We have four children and for a year we looked closely at West-Mont Christian Academy. It was recommended to us by life long friends who are teachers at West-Mont and other dear friends who send their children to West-Mont. We still wanted to do our part of investigating if this was the right school for our family. Last year we knew we would be selling our home to accommodate for a larger family but wanted to make the decision on where to move based on several things; 1. A Strong Godly Conviction in the Faculty 2. An Academically Rich Curriculum3. Teachers/Faculty who are walking out the Word4. Joyful teachers who have fun teaching! My husband and I went on a tour of the school, met the teachers/faculty, and had a meeting with Dr. Smock. The following day we sent our daughters on a shadow day. A week later we followed through with the application process and a final family interview with Dr. Smock. I'll never forget sitting down with Dr. Smock, my husband, and our daughters. The caliber of Godliness and joy Dr. Smock radiates is a gift to all who know him. He spoke openly with us and shared from his 30+ years of experience in teaching/administration at West-Mont. We talked and asked many questions and finished the meeting understanding his heart, his vision, and his dedication to West-Mont. Throughout our interview process he took a great deal of time getting to know our family and our hearts. We laughed, we cried, and we prayed with Dr. Smock. God is moving mightily in this school through the staff, faculty, and students. Since being at West-Mont I'm thrilled to say that the teachers and faculty have exceeded our expectations. Our daughters are "at home" at West-Mont. The faculty and teaching staff have gone the extra mile in making sure we feel loved and welcomed. I'm rejoicing in the Lord knowing that we have found the greatest school for our family. One thing that is convenient and a true blessing is that West-Mont is K-12 and we can send all of our kids to the same campus for many years to come.
- Posted by
5  2/24/2016
My children have attended Westmont Christian Academy for the past 8 years. It was very important to my husband and I that our children be in a school environment where there were morals, values and a good academic curriculum. We also valued the small class sizes that Westmont offered to our children. This type of environment allowed our children to thrive, to be themselves, to share their worries and there dreams. Being in a smaller school environment allows for a more personal relationship with the other children, their families and the school staff. At Westmont we are more a family. You can't put a price on a school that values a relationship with God. We are blessed to see our children grow up knowing God's love.
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
Our boys have been attending West -Mont Christian Academy for the past three years. We feel very blessed to be able to send them there. We are thankful for the safe, Christian environment the school has provided them. They have grown not only academically but also spiritually. The teachers and staff not only educate our kids academically, but also truly take an interest in each one of them to encourage and pray for them individually. Having smaller sized classes allows the teachers to work more one on one with the kids, which we think is wonderful. There are many opportunities for them to become involved in at West-Mont. Sending them to West Mont was one of the best decisions we ever made.
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
The class sizes are small. The teachers truly know our children. They care deeply about academic growth as well as their growth as individuals. The school offers numerous opportunities to explore their interests through a variety of clubs, the fine arts, sports and the Winterim program. We couldn't be happier that we found this school for our boys!
- Posted by
5  12/7/2015
West-Mont Christian Academy has been an answer to prayer for our family. Our children have thrived since their arrival at WCA, academically, spiritually and socially. The Spiritual Focus is authentic and encourages our students to be good witnesses to all those they meet and serve. We're thrilled with the staff, who obviously love God and students; they promote an atmosphere of respect and safety for our children, and partner with us in their growth as Christ-followers. We can't ask for more.
- Posted by
5  12/7/2015
My two grandkids are in their second year at West-Mont. I have seen an incredible improvement in their reading level, math skills and pure enjoyment of going to school. My grandson said this is the first time he has ever felt like a teacher cared about him. I volunteer there and have seen close up and personal the wonderful dedication the teachers have for what West-Mont stands for.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Chester County, PA is $7,348 for elementary schools and $29,838 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Chester County, PA is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).