Academy at the Lakes

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (813)948-7600
2220 & 2331 Collier Parkway
Land O Lakes, FL 34639
  • Academy at the Lakes was founded in 1992 as a nondenominational, co-ed, PreK3 12th grade independent college preparatory day school. Academy at the Lakes is a learning community of shared values dedicated to the success of each individual at school, in the community, and in the world.
  • We celebrate the love of learning and the joy in the journey.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
Year Founded1992

Student Body

Total Students478 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
32%
State avg.: 32%
Students by GradeAcademy at the Lakes Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers64 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
55%
Average Class Size14 students
Number of AP Courses17 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineFeb. 18 / rolling
Tuition NotesTuition varies per grade level
% on Financial Aid
24%
Admissions DirectorMelissa Starkey
Admissions AssociateLuci Ward

Sports

Total Sports Offered13 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WeightliftingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Weightlifting

School Notes

  • Academy at the Lakes was founded in 1992. Academy serves more than 470 students in PreK3 through Grade 12. Our campus includes 12 buildings with more than 52,000 square feet on nine acres of lakefront property. We are located on both sides of Collier Parkway in Land O'Lakes, FL, in the northern suburbs of Tampa. The school recently acquired 47 acres near its current campus to be used for future expansion.
  • Academy is accredited by the Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS); the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS); and the Florida Kindergarten Council (FKC). Academy is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools. 
  • As a college-preparatory school, we guide our students to be prepared for what lies ahead. This means we offer a challenging, varied core academic curriculum, as well as a wide array of "specials," electives, and activities spanning arts, athletics, public speaking, technology, and more.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Land O Lakes
    Grades: NS-12 | 282 students
    1.9 miles
    5105 School Rd
    Land O Lakes, FL 34638
    (813)995-9040
    1.9NS-12
    282
  • Wesley Chapel
    Grades: 3-12 | 96 students
    6.5 miles
    5700 Saddlebrook Way
    Wesley Chapel, FL 33543
    (813)907-4500
    6.53-12
    96
  • Seffner
    Grades: PK-12 | 725 students
    18.6 miles
    11605 US Hwy 92 E
    Seffner, FL 33584
    (813)626-0001
    18.6PK-12
    725
  • Zephyrhills
    Grades: K-12 | 115 students
    12.8 miles
    34927 Eiland Blvd
    Zephyrhills, FL 33541
    (813)779-1648
    12.8K-12
    115
  • Wesley Chapel
    Grades: PK-6 | 81 students
    5 miles
    6300 Oakley Blvd
    Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
    (813)907-9462
    5PK-6
    81

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  11/24/2017
I have been going to Academy at the Lakes since Junior Kindergarten and every year I ask myself if I should go back, and the answer is always yes. The reason I keep wanting to come back is because of the friendly atmosphere that my school posses. Specifically, these include the teachers who are always willing to help you with whatever you need. Another would be the students, the students here are like a giant family; everyone trys their best to include others and there is always a friendly face waiting to ask how your day is. For me, the thing that makes Academy at the Lakes stand out from others is the ability the school has to manage fun and work seamlessly. Examples include, our House Day, Student Council in school events, and alternative classroom activities. Academy at the Lakes is, a school that you will not find anywhere else; you won't be able to find a school that cares for their students as much as this one does.
- Posted by
5  9/24/2016
We're in our second year at Academy, with our kids in 5th and 6th grades respectively. We couldn't be happier with our decision. The teachers genuinely care and go above and beyond to help each individual reach their maximum potential. I love the way our Head of School, Mark Heller, describes it: "We help each student become the best version of themselves." The kids begin each school day with our Middle Division Director greeting everyone with a warm smile and handshake. The 5th and 6th grade suite is perfectly situated and structured to work closely with students adjusting during these initial, foundational middle school years. Both of my kids thoroughly enjoy having the opportunity to play an instrument, and both selected the trumpet! Middle division sports begin in 5th grade and include soccer, track, volleyball, and more. What I love about sports and extracurricular activities is that Academy allows any student to participate, and my son currently plays soccer and is looking forward to track and baseball in the spring. Last year, one of my daughter's art pieces was chosen to be in a school-wide art show at a local gallery. This did wonders for her love of art, and it increased her confidence. Another wonderful recognition element includes "blue notes" that recognize students for a multitude of things. My son has earned several for things like helping fellow students. These blue notes really help build character and promote the school's five core values: balance, courage, distinction, inclusion, integrity, and stewardship. Next year, my son will move up to seventh and eight grade building, and I'm confident he'll be ready. Overall, the campus' beauty and warmth is evident, and we look forward to additions in facilities as the school continues to grow.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My children could not be more pleased with their experience at Academy at the Lakes. They literally wake up each day looking forward to going to school to see their friends and teachers. I have total confidence that while they are there they are learning how to be a well-rounded child, both socially and academically, and a good citizen of the world. If you are looking for a school that will offer your child individual attention, small classes and a broad range of learning opportunities look no further-- you''ve found it! The access to (and communication with) the teachers and administrators is second to none! I can send my childs teacher and email or text and have a response back typically within an hour or so. Excellent!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Academy at the Lakes is the best school I''ve ever went to. The fact that I can go to my teacher at any time and ask for help and they will drop everything just to help me. The students there are so nice, warm welcoming, polite, and caring. The teachers/ faculty and I/ students have such a good relationship I can say. If we have a question about our homework we can text them and they will text back and help us with whatever we need. The school is more than amazing I love going there every day, I love saying Good Morning to everyone and getting a Good Morning in return. Academy also has a variety of different clubs, me personally love engaging in our schools society by being a student ambassador and work with our amazing Technology department, But there are so many opportunities that can be offered at Academy but it is your decision to take advantage of those opportunities. I do hope you will choose academy to be your new preschool, elementary school, and or high school.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
HOME AWAY FROM HOME! My children and our family love the school. The academics, sports, arts, and clubs are great. Most importantly, the teachers and the administration are the best and take genuine interest in your child, helping them develop to the best of their ability as an individual.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Our daughter has been attending Academy for 3 years. We started with Academy after searching the different private schools in the Tampa area. We desired one with a strong academic base and also equally strong arts and music programs, public speaking (even junior kindergarten does it, not just upper level students!), technology initiatives and competitive academic and sports programs. I''ll be blunt. Academy EVERY year blows us away. It is worth every penny. Berkeley, Carrolwood Day and others do not hold a candle to the volume of skills our daughter has gained in her time with Academy. When we are out in public, we are constantly asked where she goes to school. Why? Because this 8 y/o has a grace, poise and maturity which has been fostered by this school beyond what we do at home. I''d like to say we are the catalyst for it. However, what is really happening is the school is exemplifying what we do at home. Thus, she is never away from a solid foundation of how to act properly. When she speaks, people are shocked at her vocabulary, speaking style and comfort level. When she plays and competes, she cares and acts with grace whether winning or losing. Children are taught to speak publicly even in junior kindergarten at Academy, and it shows. The middle and upper divisions compete in many academic and sports competitions and they exceed expectations. The 3rd and 4th grades compete in academics versus other schools. Battle of the Books was a major win this year and highlighted the skills, talent and maturity of these children. Our daughter went to an ''A'' rated public school in New Tampa for kindergarten. It was a disaster. She lost her love of learning in that year. She regained it at Academy. We could not be happier. Esse Quam Videri. Go Wildcats!!!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Academy at the Lakes was a decision our family rejoices in every day and year our daughter has attended. The decision was based on the higher level of education with teachers that are invested in the techniques for success within each student and the continuation is based not only on the highest education level but the community and special programs that continue the development of our daughter in music, public speaking, art, theatre, robotics, and values. Although still in the lower grades at this time we look forward to the growth into the middle and upper sports divisions as well as expanded special programs. It is great being a part of this community in every way!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
December 12, 2017
If you have not looked for a job in the past several years, your job search probably needs a refresh. Here's how to do it.
December 12, 2017
You won't find several things in private schools which you will find in public schools.
December 04, 2017
If you are responsible for marketing your school, you probably have encountered the term SEO. If you are unfamiliar with SEO, this article will introduce you to the basic concepts.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Florida is $7,095 for elementary schools and $8,914 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Florida is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).