AIM Academy

5.00 5 1 (2 reviews)
Tel: (215)483-2461
  • Our mission is to provide extraordinary educational opportunities to children with language based learning disabilities such as dyslexia, dysgraphia, and dyscalculia, utilizing research based intervention strategies and an arts based learning environment that is college preparatory in scope and sequence and to develop a center for educational excellence and professional development to disseminate best practices to educators by providing access to the latest research-based curriculum, technology, and training.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Hands-On Academic Program Improves Attention Through Bicycling - 07/12/2017 - With a school campus located directly along the Schuylkill River Trail, avid cyclists among its faculty, a mission that is rooted in research, and a population of diverse learners, AIM Academy was a perfect candidate to receive a Riding for Focus gra...more
  • Entrepreneurship Lessons from the Founders of AIM Academy - 11/28/2017 - This article by Stan Silverman for The Business Journals describes the the entrepreneurial spirit of AIM Academy founders Pat Roberts and Nancy Blai  and how their passion, focus on market demand, and differentiation have helped the AIM student ...more
  • Hill Couple AIM to Find Solution for Dyslexia in Kids - 11/23/2017 - This article in the Chestnut Hill Local newspaper describes the journey of the Sears family as they searched for a school for their twin daughters who learn differently and how they found and chose AIM Academy.

School Overview

School TypeSpecial Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
Association of Delaware Valley Independent Schools (ADVIS)
Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDyslexia / Language-based
Year Founded2006

Student Body

Total Students341 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
23%
State avg.: 22%
Students by GradeAIM Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers72 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
85%
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Collared shirts for boys. Neat clothing for boys and girls. no blue jeans, sweatpants or athletic gear)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$33,992
Tuition NotesTuition is: $33,992 1st-5th Grade $36,913 6th-11th Grade $38,163 12th Grade
% on Financial Aid
21%
Average Financial Aid Grant$14,962
Acceptance Rate
66%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorLindsey Boden
Admissions AssociateLaura Rup

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Crew, Cross Country, Flag Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Mountain Biking, Soccer, TennisBasketballCheering,
CrewCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
LacrosseMountain Biking,
SoccerTennis,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.19 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Business and Management Club, First LEGO League Team, Food Fun, FRC (First Robotics Competition), FTC (First Technology Competition) Robotics, Horseback Riding Lessons, Junior Model UN, Mock Trial, Student Council, Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
Drama Society, Improv, Shakespeare Performance, The Moon- Arts Magazine, Young Actors/Drama Club, Young Playwrights

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Fencing, Flag Football, Girls on the Run

School Notes

  • AIM Academy was created with the belief that children with language based learning disabilities can and will thrive in a rigorous academic setting when they are taught by a highly committed, experienced and creative faculty who have ongoing access to the latest research, best practices, technological resources, and experts in their field. We dedicate ourselves to putting research into practice every day. Our students thrive in classrooms that offer multi-sensory and experiential learning and our programs are designed to foster self-esteem and social responsibility. Their academic and intellectual development is further enhanced by an array of extracurricular activities and enrichment in the arts, athletics and community service. It is our goal, that upon graduation, our students are prepared for the challenges, complexities and choices available to them at university and beyond. Curiosity, collaboration, compassion, confidence and critical thinking are their tools for success.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Doylestown
     ATG Learning Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 32 students
    18.5 miles
    196 West Ashland Street
    Doylestown, PA 18901
    (267)803-1751
    18.51-12
    32
  • Bryn Mawr
    Hill Top Preparatory School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 5-12 | 72 students
    5.7 miles
    737 S Ithan Ave
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)527-3230
    5.75-12
    72
  • Paoli
     Delaware Valley Friends School
    Special Education School (Friends)
    Grades: 3-12 | 188 students
    11.5 miles
    19 E Central Ave
    Paoli, PA 19301
    (610)640-4150
    11.53-12
    188
  • Media
    Benchmark School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-8 | 181 students
    10.6 miles
    2107 North Providence Road
    Media, PA 19063
    (610)565-3741
    10.61-8
    181
  • Havertown
    Child Guidance Elementary Ed
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-8 | 30 students
    6.8 miles
    2000 Old West Chester Pike
    Havertown, PA 19083
    (484)454-8804
    6.81-8
    30

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  12/26/2017
My son moved to AIM during winter break of his freshman year. Suffering from Dysgraphia, a deficiency in written expression, Tyler is now a senior, co-captain of the varsity basketball and soccer teams and fully engaged and ready for college. He is able to express himself with more clarity and has enjoyed the smaller classrooms and unique way of learning AIM has provided.Their recruiting of a trained faculty staff and continuous goal to find better ways to prepare its students has been rewarding for Tyler and my family. AIM's campus atmosphere is contagious in all the right ways.My father loved to tell me that the shiniest diamonds are found in your backyard. AIM shines brightest for us.Maybe it can for your family too.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
As a former AIM student, I am extremely proud to be a part of a community as close as AIMs. Each and every teacher knows every student on both an academic and personal level, allowing classroom learning and participating to be much more comfortable and encouraging than at a larger school. AIM has opened many doors for me and has taught me many valuable learning skills, and techniques that I am currently able to apply at the college level. I thank AIM for the skills I have learned, the friends I have made and the opportunities/experiences I had that one simply couldn't find at any other school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, PA is $13,701 for elementary schools and $26,718 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, PA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).