Center School

previous
Center School Photo #1 - A comprehensive academic program is provided for Center School students in first through eighth grade. The curriculum is designed to meet the needs of students and reflect the best of current research. Students receive explicit instruction in academic, organizational, and study skills to provide them with the strategies they need to become independent and confident learners.
next
Center School Photo #1 - A comprehensive academic program is provided for Center School students in first through eighth grade. The curriculum is designed to meet the needs of students and reflect the best of current research. Students receive explicit instruction in academic, organizational, and study skills to provide them with the strategies they need to become independent and confident learners.
Center School Photo #2 - Head of School Mrs W. enjoying recess with our students. Community is everything at Center School. Every faculty and staff member knows the students well, and are a part of the Center School Support Triangle.
Center School Photo #3 - The data speaks for itself. Compared to other local schools similar to Center School, we out perform everyone with our hours of literacy and success.
Center School Photo #4 - Learning at Center School is fun! Using various media, students are presented with work in a way that's engaging and taps into their personal learning style.
Center School Photo #5 - It was an honor to have former NFL player Deon Butler visit Center School. He is dyslexic and proud!
Center School Photo #6 - Center School offers co-ed softball, soccer, and basketball for all middle school students. Softball and soccer are played on the 14 acres of grounds, and basketball is played in our newly updated gym.
Center School Photo #7 - STEM is a strong focus at Center School. From reverse engineering, to building a little library, there is always some exciting coming from the STEM group.
Center School Photo #8 - Recess is a time for students to enjoy each other's company and play some games. Students have access to a playground, basketball court, and a gaga pit, as well as access to the 14 acres of grounds.
Center School Photo #9 - Center School offers a robust literacy and enrichment summer program during the month of July. Enrichment activities have included CrossFit, STEM, Music, Art, and Mindfulness.
Center School Photo #10 - Everywhere you look, there is art on the walls! Our art teacher Mrs. K. brings out the creativity in everyone!
Center School Photo #11 - Center School students have access to various media in order to support their learning. This includes Cleartouch boards, wipeable desks, and math manipulatives.
Center School Photo #12 - The Center School Student Council is very active. From creating and managing lots of school-wide events to fundraising, and collections for our community.
Center School Photo #13 - School-wide assemblies with special guests take place throughout the year. One of our guests was former NFL player Deon Butler.
Center School Photo #14 - Our Innovation Lab for STEAM is amazing! We have Hydroponics, Robotics, Spheros, VR Googles, and all kinds of hands-on fun STEAM items!
Center School Photo #15 - Meet Cooper! He is one of our 5 therapy dogs that visit each week!
Center School Photo #16 - One way to experience Center School is to take a personal tour. Families will interact with students, staff, teachers, and will hear the excitement of learning throughout the halls.
Center School Photo #17 - Center School's art teacher has been a part of our programming for over two decades! Students have the autonomy to express themselves in various ways during class. Embracing creativity is a part of the Center School model.
Center School Photo #18 - Go Red for Dyslexia!
Center School Photo #19 - We love our Annual Fall Fest! All family members are welcome. From sack races to donut eating! It's a fun-filled day for everyone.
Center School Photo #20 - Who is ready for field day! This is one of our most anticipated school-wide events! Who will win, Blue or Orange?
For over 30 years, Center School has served children with Dyslexia, Dyscalculia, Dysgraphia, ADHD, Auditory Processing Disorder, and Executive Function Disorder.
Our admissions team is available to provide virtual or individual meetings at a time that is convenient for you.
We look forward to beginning this journey with you and ensuring that this process is a meaningful one for you, your child, and your family.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • School Type: Special Education School
  • Grades: 1-8
  • Enrollment: 68 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $42,500
  • Acceptance rate: 80%
  • Average class size: 8 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Upcoming Events and News

  • Center School knocks the socks off community philanthropy! - 05/14/2024
    Teaching our students about philanthropy and paying it forward. We may hold a not-for-profit status, but that doesn't stop us from giving back to our community, teaching our students about ...morephilanthropy, and paying it forward. hide
  • Generous Donation Received From BLBB Chartiable. - 05/14/2024
    BLBB Charitable has expressed its commitment to The Center School Innovation Lab with a generous donation.
  • Center School Celebrates and Honors Our Students! - 07/27/2023
    Celebrating the successes of Center School Students. A reflection from Mrs. Wawrzyniak, Head of School.
  • Center School Hosts Instant Admissions Week - 07/27/2023
    The instant admissions event is specifically designed to "speed up" the application process for qualified families interested in joining Center School in September 2023.
  • Center School to Host its Annual Golf Tournament at NHCC - 04/19/2023
    With warmer weather now upon us, golf season is about to be in full swing. Navigating the varied terrains of a golf course, choosing the right club to hit that ...moreperfect shot, and building comradery are some of the great attractions of the game. hide
  • Center School Awarded Safe Schools Grant - 03/28/2023
    This was the impetus for Center School to apply for the targeted safety grants distributed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education`s Office for Safe Schools. With the support of State ...moreReps. Nancy Guenst and Ben Sanchez, Center School was awarded $17,666.25 to further enhance the safety and security measures within its building. hide
  • Instant Admissions Week. - 01/25/2023
    Back by popular demand! This event is specifically designed to "speed up" the application process for qualified families interested in joining Center School immediately or in September 2023.
  • ...read more

Top Rankings

Center School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Pennsylvania for:

Category
Attribute

School Overview

Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades 1-8
ADD/ADHD Support
Yes
Learning Difference Programs
Yes
Learning Programs Supported
Dyslexia / Dysgraphia / Dyscalculia / ADHD / Auditory Processing Disorder / Executive Function Disorder / Language-based learning differences
Year Founded
1989
Summer School Offered
Yes
Summer Program Details

Student Body

Total Students
68 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
60%
State avg.: 26%
Students by Grade
Center School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
3:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size
8 students
List of Courses Offered
Classroom Dress Code
Casual
No uniforms required

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost
Tuition Notes
Tuition cost for 2023-2024 school year
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director
Tiffany Getz

Sports

Total Sports Offered
3 sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Student Council Association

Arts and Music Programs:
Art Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Co-ed Basketball Team, Co-ed Soccer Team, Softball Team

School Notes

  • A comprehensive academic program is provided for Center School students in first through eighth grade. The curriculum is designed to reflect the best of current research and methods for children with language-based learning differences. Students receive explicit instruction in academic, organizational, and study skills to provide them with the strategies they need to become independent and confident learners.
  • Center School`s curriculum is language-based, recognizing the role that language plays in academic success. Using the Pennsylvania Core Standards as a guideline, full curriculum instruction is offered through a structured, multi-sensory approach based on students` needs and designed to address each child`s learning needs through small group instruction. The curriculum can be adjusted to be taught at an appropriate pace for a student`s individual level of learning.
  • The Social-Emotional Learning Curriculum is as integral a part of our program as academics. It upholds our mission and presents students with a clear avenue to take full advantage of our academic curriculum. The SEL curriculum is designed to support students` challenges, leverage their strengths, and guide students in developing the skills necessary to manage their learning, themselves, and relationships.
  • Students receive Wilson instruction every day. In Middle School, an advisory system teaches students how to set goals and celebrate their strengths and interests.
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Jenna Arnold - Jenna Arnold, the author of the bestselling book Raising Our Hands, is a Center School Alumna. She recently visited Center School and reflected on her time as a student. Jenna is an author, educator, entrepreneur, activist, and mother. With the recent release of her book, Jenna shared, " my mother didn't think I'd be able to read, yet alone deliver a bestselling book."
Source: Verified school update

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Center School cost?
Center School's tuition is approximately $42,500 for private students.
What is the acceptance rate of Center School?
The acceptance rate of Center School is 80%, which is lower than the national average of 86%.
Who are famous alumni from Center School?
Center School famous alumni include: Jenna Arnold.
Does Center School offer a summer program?
Yes, Center School offers a summer program. Visit their summer school page for more information.
What sports does Center School offer?
Center School offers 3 interscholastic sports: Basketball, Soccer and Softball.
When is the application deadline for Center School?
The application deadline for Center School is rolling (applications are reviewed as they are received year-round).
In what neighborhood is Center School located?
Center School is located in the Roslyn neighborhood of Abington, PA. There are 2 other private schools located in Roslyn.

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  
Center School saved our son's life. He was struggling in an excellent private school and finally felt at home when we moved him to Center School in 6th grade. His two years there taught him to devise strategies he still uses in college, where he's thriving. Do your child a favor and give them the gift of Center School when you know the time is right. His self-confidence came back and we are forever grateful! He also attributes all his post-Center School success to his years there.
- Posted by
5  
A shining example of Education. A hidden gem that needs to be brought to the forefront. If your student would benefit from smaller class sizes and more personalized lessons, don't wait another minute. Check out Center School!
- Posted by
5  
This school saved my granddaughter's educational life. The school did a fantastic job of teaching her how to deal with her learning differences and enabled her to transition back to a more traditional school. The strategies she learned at Center School have enabled her to overcome her learning challenges. Center School is now doing the same with my grandson, who also suffers from Dyslexia. The school is a hidden gem. I would strongly recommend this school to any parent or grandparent with a child with learning differences.
- Posted by
5  
I am very glad to have sent two children to Center School. It is a remarkable learning institution for kids with some type of learning disability. The faculty is able to break through and teach children how to learn differently. One of our children has transitioned back to a typical school and is thriving with the skill set learned at Center School. The other has just started and is making tremendous strides in his first year there. I strongly recommend this school to any parents whose children are finding it difficult to learn in the conventional school setting.
- Posted by
5  
Center School has changed my son's life! He is learning, growing and thriving socially, emotionally and academically. I can't express how wonderful and caring all the teachers and staff are in the school and how hard they work to make all the kids a success.
- Posted by
5  
This school was a godsend. It took until our son was finishing 5th grade to really understand he needed to be in a school that knows how to teach to kids with learning disabilities. In our case, ADHD kept my son back in math and reading. In less than a year, we have seen incredible progress. I''d recommend this school to anyone and tell them not to wait another year. The teachers are outstanding and the student body is wonderful.
- Posted by
5  
One of the best schools out there, I would not be where I am at in life without them
- Posted by
5  
I am a middle school teacher at Center School. I love the ability to be able to instruct students at their level, thereby giving them exactly what they need. The faculty is committed and dedicated to each and every student.
- Posted by

Endorse Center School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

Successful Uses of AI in the Classroom
Successful Uses of AI in the Classroom
Gain insights into striking the right balance between leveraging AI tools and preserving the irreplaceable role of human teachers.
How to Study for an Exam
How to Study for an Exam
Discover proven strategies for high school juniors and seniors to study effectively and excel in exams. From time management techniques to active learning strategies, this article provides essential tips for success. Get ready to boost your grades and conquer your exams with confidence!
Rolling Admissions
April 25, 2024
Rolling Admissions
Discover why many institutions opt for rolling admissions and how it can offer flexibility and opportunities for applicants throughout the year.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • School Type: Special Education School
  • Grades: 1-8
  • Enrollment: 68 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $42,500
  • Acceptance rate: 80%
  • Average class size: 8 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, PA is $19,469 for elementary schools and $27,264 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, PA is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Quick Links