Coram Deo Academy

5.00 5 1 (28 reviews)
Tel: (800)465-0561
previous
next
  • Coram Deo Academy educates youth in an historic Christian worldview through a rigorous, classical curriculum.
  • The goal of CDA is to train ethical leaders and wise thinkers who will shape culture for the glory of God.
  • The majority of the students attend classes on campus 2-3 days/ week and complete their studies under the tutelage of their parents at home.
  • CDA's three campuses (Collin County, Dallas, and Flower Mound) serve over 1270 students.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
AdvancED
Texas Association of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1999

Student Body

Total Students1275 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeCoram Deo Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers106 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio12:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size13 students
Number of AP Courses10 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesEuropean History, United States History, English Language, English Literature, Chemistry, Environmental Science and Optional AP/Dual Credit Courses: AP Calculus AB, AP Art History, AP Latin, DC Physics, DC College Algebra,
Average SAT score1237
Average ACT score28
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineApr. 10 / Jul. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$5,000
Tuition NotesTuition ranges from $4095 (PreK) to $7260 (high school) for two-day program plus optional electives. Five-day/full-time program (available grades 5-12 only) ranges $10,050 - $11,865.
Average Financial Aid Grant$1,000
Admissions DirectorBarbara Rogers
Admissions AssociateJan Geist

Sports

Total Sports Offered11 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Arts and Music Programs:
Band, Choir, Drama, Guitar, Speech and Debate, Visual Arts

School Notes

  • Accredited by AdvancED 
  • Classical,non-denominational Christian school
  • Genuine school/family collaboration
  • Rigorous, traditional, liberal arts curriculum
  • Combined enrollment of over 1270 students at three campuses (Collin County/Plano, Dallas, and Flower Mound)
  • Associations:
    • ACCS (Association of Christian and Classical Schools)
    • National Junior Classical League
    • TAPPS (Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools)
    • TFA (Texas Forensic Association)
    • TPSMEA (Texas Private School Music Educators Association)
    • UMSI (University-Model Schools International)
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Carrollton
    Grades: NS-12 | 884 students
    15.3 miles
    4004 Midway Rd
    Carrollton, TX 75007
    (972)447-0532
    15.3NS-12
    884
  • Denton
    Grades: K-12 | 209 students
    9.9 miles
    Po Box 2414
    Denton, TX 76202
    (940)320-1944
    9.9K-12
    209
  • Plano
    Grades: PK-12 | 1444 students
    15.4 miles
    6801 W. Park Blvd
    Plano, TX 75093
    (972)930-4010
    15.4PK-12
    1444
  • Carrollton
    Grades: PK-12
    13.7 miles
    2205 E Hebron Pkwy
    Carrollton, TX 75010
    (972)242-6688
    13.7PK-12
    n/a
  • Flower Mound
    Grades: K-12 | 120 students
    2.3 miles
    2501 Northshore Blvd
    Flower Mound, TX 75028
    (972)874-8700
    2.3K-12
    120

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (28 reviews)
5  5/13/2017
We adore Coram Deo. Our children have thrived @ CDA. The academic program, teachers, and facilities are outstanding. It is such a warm, loving, and fun school. We love their Friday elective programs as well.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
CDA has been a great experience for our children. We found a high quality education with a strong focus on values, supported by committed and caring faculty. Extra-curricular opportunities continue to grow with the school.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Great school! We love the collaboration between school and home. My daughter is learning and growing in her relationship with God. We feel very blessed to have found CDA.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We love Coram Deo Academy for all its acedmic excellence and especially for incorporating faith into the curriculum. Such a blessing to be apart if this school.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Our two children have been attending CDA for the last 4 years. It has been a wonderful experience for all of us. The faculty has been most helpful and supporting as we have the 7th grader in a 5 day on campus program and the 5th grader going 2 days on campus and 3 day at home campus. Assignments and keys are readily available so the home days are busy but not impossible. The kids like the electives of art, music and theater. The 5th grader loves the Latin classes. And the uniforms make it easy to decide what to wear today. ;) We think going to CDA was the best decision we have made for the children's future.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Great school with rigorous academics, strong Christian values, and warm environment! Challenging for students academically, athletically, and spiritually.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Outstanding education. Teachers that are passionate about their subjects and students. Christ-centered education.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
This is our 14th year at Coram Deo Academy! We are so thankful for the extra family time provided combined with an excellent Christian classical curriculum.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
CDA is a rigorous school that teaches literature, math, science, athletics, the arts, etc. from a Biblical perspective. It is not for the faint of heart, but for those whose hearts genuinely yearn to grow deeper in God's truth and love. CDA's university model encourages students to manage their on and off days well. Parents (especially of younger students) stay connected with their students as they homeschool on the off days. Our sons are now in high school, and I appreciate how they continue to value our input even as they have become increasingly independent over the years. College guidance directs older students to pursue God's plan for their lives. I would highly recommend CDA to anyone seeking God's definition of success in their children's lives!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Top notch academics, great family atmosphere, and a positive peer culture are just a few of the things my family appreciates about Coram Deo!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
This school has been a great experience for my family. It's opened doors for great conversations about the Lord with my children. Also, it's allowed rigorous education while increasing our time together and depth of understanding of each other.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Coram Deo Academy provides an excellent academic education as well as wonderful social and extracurricular activities. The work definitely challenges the students, and parent involvement is a must. The teachers and staff truly care about each and every student, and they include teaching the gospel in every subject. Having college age children now that attended CDA, I can say CDA prepared them very well for that next educational step. We highly recommend it!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We love this school! It's been a blessing to watch our kids grow - mind, soul and body. The one downside would be a few classes in 7th grade that can be frustrating.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Coram Deo has been amazing. Coming from a public school kindergarten to CDA for first grade was a night and day difference. Watching first graders graph sentences, explore history, use deductive reasoning, work simple algebra, and read essays before their class; has been a beautiful reminder of how capable our children truly are when the right instruction, love and encouragement is being lavished on them. -- The electives are fun to choose each year, and the flexible scheduling is much appreciated. My daughter loves going to school and actually misses it during Spring and Summer breaks.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Coram Deo Academy is more than a school, it is an extension of family. Each family at CDA walks out their faith with a sincere dedication to raising their children to bring glory to God. The Christian environment is priority at CDA- the teachers, staff, and administrators all pour in to these students with love and devotion reflecting who they are in Jesus Christ. The collaborative model serves to keep parents involved in their students` education as the primary instructors in their child`s life. While to some this may seem taxing, there is an incredible amount of support offered by the CDA community to help families transition to this type of education. The classical instruction my children have received has opened their eyes and broadened their thinking to a Christian worldview. I have 2 students who have attended CDA for the past 8 years. One is a current student, and one has gone on to a successful college career in a large public university. She often tells others how fortunate she was to have been well prepared for university level courses because of the incredible instruction she received during her years at CDA.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
This school is top notch all the way. The academics are above and beyond with the most committed teachers and administrators. The students truly stand out as such a bright, well-spoken, and well-mannered group. The quality of all that is offered at Coram Deo is amazing!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We love CDA! We have found it to be a wonderful school with strong academics and caring teachers. We appreciate the university-model schedule that allows us to participate in our children's education.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We were skeptical that we could afford private school, but Coram Deo Academy was very affordable for our family. I have one graduate from CDA and have a high school student enrolled currently. The graduate was fully prepared for his college experience and is a working professional now. Both children enjoyed extracurriculars and Christian relationships that would not have been options in public school. Faculty and staff are at the top of their fields and are grace-filled people that are concerned with the whole student. We love CDA!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
After sending three of my children through this school from elementary to graduation from High School, and seeing all of them enter college with scholarships, the first graduating with honors and a great job, one heading into being a Dr. and one beginning college in a Boston medical college, I heartily endorse this school.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
CDA, Collin County campus, is an excellent school. The staff is highly qualified and is invested in the success of each student. It is a challenging curriculum that prepares the students for a successful college experience, as well as life outside of school. The extracurricular activities we have participated in- basketball, art, speech/debate, and choir- have been of great benefit and personally rewarding to each of my children.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
My children attended CDA for 26 combined years. This is a great school and totally prepared my children for college and beyond. Their collaborative model enable us to have more family time. I highly recommend Coram Deo Academy.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Three of our children have attended Coram Deo Academy Flower Mound campus over the past 12 years. We have been so blessed by the quality of education and opportunities for our children. It is an outstanding community of engaged parents and teachers. Our oldest is now in college, and CDA prepared him well.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We have had a great experience with this school and many of the families that are involved. I have 3 children that attend and have now completed almost every grade. It has been a very nice fit for us. I highly recommend!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
It's our first year for my oldest son who is in kindergarten. We are so happy to have made the decision to come to Coram Deo Academy in Plano. It's God first school and education is excellent. Teachers and all of administration love the students. I highly recommend Coram Deo Academy.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Coram Deo has been a wonderful fit for our family. We love that the curriculum coincides with our faith, and the core program offers great flexibility for our family. The teachers are gifted, caring, and well qualified. CDA offers a wonderful learning environment.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
CDA provides an extraordinary education for families willing to invest in the model (classical, collaborative, Christian).. Students develop strong critical thinking, speaking, and writing skills setting a solid foundation for whatever field the student chooses to pursue later. The teachers are fabulous and truly invest in each student. The arts programs (choir, drama, speech, visual, and band) are strong and welcoming to all students.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Great Christian Classical Training school. Great education, small classroom size, attentive and caring teachers, staff and administration. Easy to talk to other parents and staff at the school.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Wonderful school, you won't find a better education anywhere!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Denton County, TX is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).