Elizabeth Seton High School

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: (301)864-4532
previous
next
  • Nestled on a 24 acre campus in Bladensburg, MD, Elizabeth Seton High School was founded in 1959 by the Daughters of Charity as a Catholic, college preparatory school for young women. The school enrolls 645 diverse students in grades 9-12.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades 9-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild Learning Differences
Year Founded1959

Student Body

Total Students543 students
Student Body TypeAll-girls
% Students of Color
65%
State avg.: 33%
Students by GradeElizabeth Seton High School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers52 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
59%
Average Class Size17 students
Number of AP Courses14 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineDec. 14
Yearly Tuition Cost$13,950
Tuition NotesBooks and uniforms are purchased separately.
Admissions DirectorMelissa Davey '99
Admissions AssociateElise O'Meara '10

Sports

Total Sports Offered15 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBasketballCheering,
CrewCross Country,
DanceEquestrian,
Field HockeyLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.23 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Ambassadors Club, Art Club, Dance Team, Drama Club, Ecology Club, Equestrian Club, Gospel Choir, International Club, Literary Club, Marian Service Club, Math Club, National Honor Society (NHS), Newspaper, Onyx Club, Pax Christi, Peer Mediators, SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions), Scholars, Seton Decorators, Step Team, StudentGovernment, Time Travelers, Yearbook

School Notes

  • Rooted in Catholic values and the charism of the Daughters of Charity, Elizabeth Seton High School cultivates confidence in young women to excel in college, careers, and life through an innovative and rigorous academic experience. As a diverse and inclusive learning community, students think critically and creatively, work collaboratively, and serve others.
  • Since 1959, the Daughters of Charity have owned and operated Elizabeth Seton High School as a place where young women are empowered to learn, lead, and serve others. Their creativity, talents, and enthusiasm are nurtured and challenged as they prepare to take their places as tomorrow's leaders. For more than 50 years, ESHS has inspired young women to reach their goals , opened their minds to diverse people and ideas, and prepared them to adapt and succeed in the future. A Seton education is an investment that yields benefits for a lifetime.Elizabeth Seton was named one of ten private schools of distinction by The Washington Post.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • District Heights
    Grades: 9-12 | 870 students
    6.6 miles
    6800 Marlboro Pike
    District Heights, MD 20747
    (301)735-8401
    6.69-12
    870
  • Laurel
    Grades: 9-12 | 460 students
    11.2 miles
    113 Saint Marys Place
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)725-3228
    11.29-12
    460
  • Bethesda
    Grades: 3-12 | 664 students
    13 miles
    7303 River Road
    Bethesda, MD 20817
    (301)365-5300
    133-12
    664
  • Washington
    Grades: 9-12 | 500 students
    4.8 miles
    4300 Harewood Rd Ne
    Washington, DC 20017
    (202)529-0200
    4.89-12
    500
  • Olney
    Grades: 9-12 | 1200 students
    15.2 miles
    17301 Old Vic Boulevard
    Olney, MD 20832
    (240)283-3235
    15.29-12
    1200

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  10/14/2017
I am the parent of an 11th grader and the aunt of a 2014 graduate who is in her senior year in college. I have found Elizabeth Seton High School to be full of teachers and staff who care about the girls. The atmosphere in the school is warm and supportive. One might think that a building full of adolescent girls could be a bit tense but it is quite the opposite! The "girl drama" is minimal and the nurturing of one another is evident in the student body. This school has it all: great academics with high standards and great college prep opportunities (AP and honors courses), fine arts including band, orchestra, choir, dance, theatre, and visual arts, small class sizes, a wide variety of athletic teams, and almost any club you can imagine including National Honor Society and Tri M, National Music Honor Society. The yearly service requirement gives the girls the opportunity to serve others in need while learning that everyone can make the world a better place. Elizabeth Seton offers a great value for the tuition cost. One should never equate affordable tuition with inferior education at Elizabeth Seton. What Seton does offer is affordability for parents ensuring both racial and socioeconomic diversity, something sometimes lacking in private education.I appreciate being a part of the Seton family and have no reservations about recommending this school for young women looking for college preparatory school that offers high academic standards and a solid moral foundation for our future leaders.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I am the parent of an 11th grader and the aunt of a 2014 graduate who is in her senior year in college. I have found Elizabeth Seton High School to be full of teachers and staff who care about the girls. The atmosphere in the school is warm and supportive. One might think that a building full of adolescent girls could be a bit tense but it is quite the opposite! The "girl drama" is minimal and the nurturing of one another is evident in the student body. This school has it all: great academics with high standards and great college prep opportunities (AP and honors courses), fine arts including band, orchestra, choir, dance, theatre, and visual arts, small class sizes, a wide variety of athletic teams, and almost any club you can imagine including National Honor Society and Tri M, National Music Honor Society. The yearly service requirement gives the girls the opportunity to serve others in need while learning that everyone can make the world a better place. I have often thought that our tuition should be higher given all of the outstanding things that Elizabeth Seton has to offer. One should never equate affordable tuition with inferior education here at Seton.I appreciate being a part of the Seton family and have no reservations about recommending this school for young women looking for a foundation for a wonderful future.
- Posted by
5  5/12/2016
I am an active parent of an Elizabeth Seton High School student. After two years we are both very happy with the level of the academics, the facilities and the clubs, sports and activities offered. Seton offers standard, honors and AP courses with a challenging and relevant curriculum in all (also pre-law, engineering and pre-medical tracks of learning) and a staff certified in their particular disciplines. You can see where your money is being put back into the school in the upkeep of the facilities and the level of technology that is provided for student use. Clubs, activities and sports offered are varied and well put together. Seton excels at many sports (offering track, soccer, basketball, lacrosse, volleyball, swimming and golf to name a few). I seem to have to make my child leave this school; she is always involved in something, such as clubs and varsity sports teams or cheering the school on in one of their events. Outside of school the girls spend alot of time with each other also. She has made wonderful friendships that will last her a lifetime. The undertaking of advancing the students academically & mentally as well rounded young ladies ready for the world after high school is evident. Administrative support and guidance for moving forward to the next phase of college is evident and easily accessible to the girls. There are many Seton students who come back to visit and work at the school, which shows you the level of commitment the school has to it students. I go to many of the High School sporting events as they play other private schools in the area, and seeing how our girl's carry themselves both when we are away and while we are on our home turf, makes me even prouder to be a Roadrunner parent. Seton is all girl with an all boy brother school- DeMatha Catholic High School. Also an upstanding institution of education and a great relationship exist between the two schools.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Prince Georges County, MD is $8,659 for elementary schools and $12,346 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Prince Georges County, MD is 73% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).