Ursuline Academy Of Dallas

5.00 5 1 (2 reviews)
Tel: (469)232-1800
  • Founded in 1874, Ursuline Academy of Dallas is an independent Catholic college preparatory school for young women sponsored by the Ursuline Sisters.
  • The mission of Ursuline Academy is the total development of the individual student through spiritual formation, intellectual growth, service to others, and building of community.
  • Ursuline Academy educates young women for leadership in a global society.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the South West (ISAS)
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades 9-12
Year Founded1874

Student Body

Total Students850 students
Student Body TypeAll-girls
% Students of Color
30%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeUrsuline Academy Of Dallas Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers94 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size18 students
Number of AP Courses29 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1290
Average ACT score27
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 6
Yearly Tuition Cost$21,000
% on Financial Aid
24%
Admissions DirectorRebekah Gilbert
Admissions AssociateJenny Hood

Sports

Total Sports Offered14 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Drill Team, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
CrewCross Country,
DanceDrill Team,
GolfLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Over 80 clubs from Make A Wish to Art in a Cart the possibilities are endless!

Arts and Music Programs:
Band, Choir, Dance, etc., String Ensemble, Theatre

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Rugby Clu

School Notes

  • Founded in 1874, Ursuline Academy of Dallas is an independent Catholic college preparatory school for young women sponsored by the Ursuline Sisters. The mission of Ursuline Academy is the total development of the individual student through spiritual formation, intellectual growth, service to others, and building of community. Ursuline Academy educates young women for leadership in a global society.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Dallas
    Grades: PK-12 | 1085 students
    2 miles
    11600 Welch Road
    Dallas, TX 75229
    (214)363-6311
    2PK-12
    1085
  • Dallas
    Grades: 1-12 | 868 students
    1.5 miles
    10600 Preston Road
    Dallas, TX 75230
    (214)346-8700
    1.51-12
    868
  • Dallas
    Grades: 9-12 | 1060 students
    9.2 miles
    9750 Ferguson Rd
    Dallas, TX 75228
    (214)324-3607
    9.29-12
    1060
  • Houston
    Incarnate Word Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 326 students
    232.4 miles
    609 Crawford Street
    Houston, TX 77002
    (713)227-3637
    232.49-12
    326
  • Dallas
    Grades: PK-12 | 157 students
    9.1 miles
    915 West 9th Street
    Dallas, TX 75208
    (214)941-9717
    9.1PK-12
    157

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  3/22/2017
I really felt my experience at UA was formative and enjoyable. There is not a lot of cliquishness, as would be common in other high schools, and every girl really feels like one of your sisters. There are lots of opportunities to get acquainted with your peers, frosh lock-in, big sis little sis, and theater and sports. I was big on theater, dance, and volleyball. Ursuline makes you believe you can do anything you set your mind to; there is no gender barrier and women can express themselves freely without fear of ridicule. My coaches and my teachers were leaders you could talk to, about school or life in general, they seemed to always be available, and always gave positive enforcement. The school has a great service component which is a hallmark of a Catholic education, and along with retreats, and sporadic holy masses, we received an education of the spirit. Nothing ever felt tedious or forced--everyone genuinely wanted to be there either to teach or learn, which adds to this school's college prep feel. I was always busy with something--which was a good thing, because I loved all my classes, friends, and extracurriculars! When I heard of the passing of Father Deeves, I was disheartened; he was another positive force of support at the school, and lent an old-world charm to the ambience. I hope the school continues to be what it was once to me: a brilliant platform for young women to become fully themselves and fully prepared for the greater challenges of college and beyond. Couldn't recommend it more!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
No matter what religious background you come from, Ursuline is absolutely wonderful! The academics and extracurricular opportunities are nothing short of outstanding. The girls are kind and sisterly. The whole atmosphere of the school is warm, inviting, and perfect for learning. The teachers care about the students. They do not what parents to get involved because they want students to become independent and learn to advocate themselves. You cannot possibly go wrong with Ursuline!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Dallas, TX is $7,963 for elementary schools and $16,850 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Dallas, TX is 72% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).