Maranatha Christian Academy

5.00 5 1 (12 reviews)
Tel: (763)488-7900
previous
next
  • Maranatha Christian Academy, a pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 school, exists to provide students an academically rigorous college-preparatory education in a distinctly Christian environment of high values, character development, and exceptional student culture.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Oral Roberts University Educational Fellowship (ORUEF)
Other school association(s)
AdvancED
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1978

Student Body

Total Students630 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
38%
State avg.: 18%
Students by GradeMaranatha Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers48 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio13:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size15 students
Number of AP Courses6 courses
Advanced CoursesBiology, Calculus, History, Language/Composition, Literature/Composition, Spanish,
Average ACT score26
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Dress code includes select styles of clothing. )

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$10,329
Tuition NotesTuition shown is for grades 9-12. Tuition is lower for middle school, lower school, and pre-kindergarten.
% on Financial Aid
50%
Acceptance Rate
98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorSandy Thoma
Admissions AssociateTia Meyen

Sports

Total Sports Offered14 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Adventures Club, Book Club, Chess/Strategy Games Club, Film Club, First Lego League Robotics, First Tech Challenge, Gaming Club, Missions Trips, National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society (NJHS), Recycling Club, Student Council

School Notes

  • Maranatha Christian Academy, a pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 school, exists to provide students an academically rigorous college-preparatory education in a distinctly Christian environment of high values, character development, and exceptional student culture.
  • The Acadmey's mission is fulfilled through these core values. We purpose to: 1. Assist in the development of the "whole" person - spirit, soul, and body. 2. Assist each student in establishing a real and unshakable relationship with Jesus Christ by (1) presenting the gospel, (2) training them to use the Word of God with authority, and (3) promoting the development of a truly biblical worldview and value system. 3. Produce students who are academically qualified: well-educated, self-directed, and life-long learners. 4. Act as an extension of the home and church by instilling Christian values and thus, together, equip the next generation to live godly lives in an increasingly ungodly world. 5. Train young people to be positive role models and influential leaders who will carry out the "Great Commission." (Matthew 28:19-20) 6. Lead students by way of example and instruction into a lifestyle that places the needs of others above their own needs and wants. Maranatha Christian Academy. Academics. Faith. Excellence.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Minneapolis
    Grades: PK-12 | 171 students
    6.7 miles
    6875 University Ave Ne
    Minneapolis, MN 55432
    (763)571-6410
    6.7PK-12
    171
  • Maple Grove
    Grades: PK-12 | 478 students
    3.9 miles
    15655 Bass Lake Rd
    Maple Grove, MN 55311
    (763)463-2200
    3.9PK-12
    478
  • Hopkins
    Grades: PK-12 | 2369 students
    11.5 miles
    110 Blake Road S
    Hopkins, MN 55343
    (952)988-3420
    11.5PK-12
    2369
  • Minneapolis
    Grades: PK-7 | 142 students
    8 miles
    4030 Jackson St Ne
    Minneapolis, MN 55421
    (763)788-9065
    8PK-7
    142
  • Andover
    Grades: PK-12 | 466 students
    9.4 miles
    3037 Bunker Lake Blvd NW
    Andover, MN 55304
    (763)427-4595
    9.4PK-12
    466

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
5  11/24/2017
Our children attended K-12 and we loved MCA! It's wonderful to have staff that actually gets to know both children and parents. They worked together with us, always expecting the best, they were encouraging and understanding when situations were challenging, and always open to suggestions.
- Posted by
5  6/12/2017
We love MCA! We have 3 kids there 7th 5th and 3rd. My oldest started in kindergarten. Love the partnership with teachers and administration. They are all truly amazing. It's like family! We are so grateful our children not only receive great education but have the freedom to build a foundation of faith.
- Posted by
5  5/15/2017
MCA has been a wonderful experience for our family! We chose MCA after looking at many private school options. We wanted a private school with a small, intimate feel, but also desired a school population with diverse cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds. My husband and I are both former Division 1, Ivy League athletes, so a good balance of academics and athletic/extracurricular options were paramount in our decision. MCA partners with Providence & Osseo for certain athletics, so your child will be able to participate even if there is not an MCA-exclusive offering... My daughter has a music teacher contracted through MCA that comes directly to the school to give private acoustic guitar lessons. MCA offers this for several instruments - starting in kindergarten! MCA has felt like family from Day 1. You are greeted at the door with smiles - and sometimes by the head of school himself! With a very convenient location in the metro area, for sure a place to check out for your student!
- Posted by
5  5/15/2017
Best school in the Twin Cities period. Our children have been there Since Kindergarden, absolutely love it.
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
We can't begin to say enough great things about our school. From the minute you walk in the door you can feel the difference. The school has done a beautiful job of offering an academically rigorous curriculum while balancing a distinctly Christian atmosphere. One of the highlights is how much care and concern the teachers and staff have had for our children.
- Posted by
5  6/3/2016
Maranatha Christian Academy is an incredible school that will set your child up to succeed in life! They hold high standards and offer innovative learning opportunities like an onsite STEM center and onsite college coursework. Best of all, it is built on a strong foundation of spiritual growth and character development. We are delighted with the results we have seen in our children and are so happy that we made the choice to enroll them there.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
In MCA's mission statement it states its an academically rigorous college-prep school. As a parent, I couldn't agree more. You will definitely get your money's worth having your children attend MCA. Check out all MCA has to offer you and your family, you won't regret it.
- Posted by
5  7/17/2015
Maranatha is an outstanding school! The staff and faculty reflect to the students that they really love what they do and that they care for the students. My kids love it at Maranatha! That is the highest recommendation a school can get!
- Posted by
5  7/17/2015
MCA is a top-notch school. Our 4 children have and are currently attending and have loved their time in the school. Not only does MCA place a high importance on academics (2 of our boys have received academic scholarships to cover college) but, the teachers and staff are invested in caring for and encouraging all of the students!
- Posted by
5  7/17/2015
MCA is a school that lives up to it's motto - Academically Rigorous, Distinctively Christian. The staff and administration are approachable, engaging, and nurturing. The academics prepare students for college and more. The athletic program is competitive and offers a variety of sports! MCA offers a multitude of extracurricular activities and clubs. Our teenagers have both attended since kindergarten and have become fine young men thanks to MCA and the incredible staff there.
- Posted by
5  12/11/2012
The quality of teachers at MCA is like no other. Each and every staff member truly cares for my children. Where else can you get the best education, teachers who love your kids AND have teachers who will pray your kids through their ups and downs in life. I feel blessed that my kids attend MCA.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2012
i would like my three year old son to join your school. please tell me more about your kinder- care program. my celphone number is 7632199066. Thank you and God bless
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Minneapolis, MN is $5,491 for elementary schools and $12,798 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Minneapolis, MN is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).