Brookewood School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (301)949-7997
  • Brookewood School is an independent school for girls located in Kensington, Maryland.
  • More than that, we are a community of families and educators who believe in helping our daughters become young women.
  • At Brookewood School, we believe that our school should help parents form their daughters into young women who are educated, cultured, pious, cheerful, adventurous, and generous.
  • We live this philosophy heart, soul, mind, and strength.

School Overview

Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
Year Founded2006

Student Body

Total Students146 students
Student Body TypeAll-girls
% Students of Color
14%
State avg.: 33%
Students by GradeBrookewood School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
68%
Average Class Size13 students
Number of AP Courses5 courses
Advanced CoursesAP Calculus AB, AP English Language and Composition, AP English Literature and Composition, AP Italian Language and Culture, AP US Government, AP US History,
Average SAT score1420

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$12,000
Tuition Notes$14,500 Grades 9-12 $13,500 Grades 6-8 $12,000 grades 3-5 $8,000 Grades 1-2 Financial aid is available.
% on Financial Aid
55%
Admissions DirectorHelen Williams

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBasketball, Field Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Swimming, VolleyballBasketballField Hockey,
LacrosseSoccer,
SwimmingVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Art Club, Model UN, Yearbook Committee

School Notes

  • Brookewood School is an independent school for girls located in Kensington, Maryland. More than that, we are a community of families and educators who believe in helping our daughters become young women. At Brookewood School, we believe that our school should help parents form their daughters into young women who are educated, cultured, pious, cheerful, adventurous, and generous. We live this philosophy heart, soul, mind, and strength.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kensington
    Academy Of The Holy Cross
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 550 students
    1.4 miles
    4920 Strathmore Ave
    Kensington, MD 20895
    (301)942-2100
    1.49-12
    550
  • Potomac
    Grades: K-12 | 777 students
    6.8 miles
    10601 Falls Rd
    Potomac, MD 20854
    (301)299-8500
    6.8K-12
    777
  • Bethesda
    Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: NS-12 | 700 students
    1.9 miles
    9101 Rockville Pike
    Bethesda, MD 20814
    (301)657-4322
    1.9NS-12
    700
  • Olney
    Grades: 9-12 | 1200 students
    8.1 miles
    17301 Old Vic Boulevard
    Olney, MD 20832
    (240)283-3235
    8.19-12
    1200
  • Bethesda
    Grades: 3-12 | 664 students
    4.7 miles
    7303 River Road
    Bethesda, MD 20817
    (301)365-5300
    4.73-12
    664

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
Strong common sense curriculum (in which teachers are free to have fun and the children benefit) emphasizing love of learning, real literature, poetry, natural history, art, music, and Italian. The girls go by the school motto "be not afraid", both spiritually and physically: reciting poetry in public frequently, climbing trees, creeping, going on annual camping trips, and hiking. They grow in confidence and seem really able to be themselves. The girls in our experience are very welcoming and it is not "cliquish" or snobby at all (not to say normal dramas don't exist). Quite traditional religious education curriculum but more significantly, authentically Catholic with teachers who model the same sincerity in their lives. The school is not perfect- I've had my personal disagreements about aspects of curriculum and there can be high teacher turnover due to many being young, catholic, and having babies, but overall this is a beautiful school with a truly important mission. If you don't want really authentic Catholic education, are into keeping up with lots of technology in the classroom, and you think the most important aspects of education include AP course variety and sports options, this school may not be for you. (Of course they are seeking to expand AP and sports, but I don't perceive them as the heart of a BW education, which I think strives for things that are more fundamental). However if you are open to or desire a real catholic Christian atmosphere, a small warm community of learning, and hold authentic love of and joy in learning, true literature, and education of the whole person as core educational values you will love this place. ( So you know my perspective: My family is a traditional liberal arts family with advanced coursework/degrees from a top University. We want the best education possible for our kids, and for us love of learning is paramount. We are at Brookewood for its healthy Christian atmosphere and because we don't like the modern practical emphasis on learning just to past tests and get a job or the emphasis on technology at a young age when kids should be reading. BW is growing its sports but we don't view Sports as so fundamental as we see them as liesure pursuits which develop teamwork that the kids can pursue outside of school anyway. So... That's us and why we love Brookewood!). My fifth grade daughter says to say: "Brookewood is awesome!!!" First grader agrees.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Brookewood is an independent all-girls school guided by the authentic teachings of the Catholic church. My three daughters all attend, grades 10, 6, and 3. The academics are rigorous and coupled with the benefit of small class sizes- I feel they will all be very well prepared for college. However, Brookewood is not just about academics. The spiritual and character formation they receive are essential preparation for the real world. I truly believe they will be well prepared to stand for what is right. The faculty and staff are to be commended for the nurturing educational environment they have created at this wonderful school.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I have 2 daughters in the lower school, and one who will be entering first grade at Brookewood in a couple of years. Academically it's a fantastic school and I am very happy with that aspect. My girls are strong in math, science, and spelling/grammar. They enjoy art and music classes, can recite poetry, and have been well prepared for first communion by their religion teachers. But what I see that really makes the school shine is the way the girls interact with one another. It's beautiful to see how the older girls truly care for the younger ones. There is a friendship there that is something very special, and even though the daily commute is long for my girls, they are incredibly happy at Brookewood.Knowing a good number of the seniors who have graduated over the years, I have to say they are some of the finest young women I have come across - confident, poised and unafraid.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Brookewood has been great for my two elementary school aged daughters who we transferred after four years in public school. The class sizes are small, which was the main reason for the switch. My elementary school daughters loved the addition of Natural History and Italian to their daily schedule. They have a great balance between rigor and fun. My younger daughter has had a noticeable improvement in her confidence since switching to Brookewood. Being in an environment that is not focused on data and testing has been a welcomed improvement. While they are missing some elements a public school environment provides (technology, identifying reading levels through standardized testing) they thrive in areas public school fall behind (individualized attention, grammar, handwriting, math and understanding the world around them). I would highly recommend Brookewood, but at the same time, don't want the secret to get out!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Wonderful school. I spent 7th grade through high school at Brookewood and was intellectually challenged every year. Teachers are available for one-on-one help when asked. The school has a strong community and hosts many events throughout the year so the girls have a chance to get involved in the school. The environment is intellectually competitive in a healthy way and fosters a cheerful outlook on life. I enjoyed my time there and I am very grateful for all that was offered.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Very good school, change my daughter life. Rigorous academically and very friendly environment. The girls have a bond between them. I don't regret it sending my daughter there it is the best investment.
- Posted by
5  8/2/2013
strong academics, builds confident and cheerful well educated women, small class sizes.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 22, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, MD is $13,206 for elementary schools and $21,779 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, MD is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).